Council Nominations Committee

Council Nominations Committee Terms of Reference 2017/18

1. To make recommendations to Council for:

    (a) the nomination of the Chancellor;

    (b) the nomination of the Pro-Chancellors under Class I of Council membership;

    (c) the nomination of the Chair of Council;

    (d) nominations for the places under Class II of Council membership;

    (e) nominations to Council committees and joint committees with Senate.

    (f) nominations to Trusts associated with the University.


2. To review criteria for appointments from time to time, having regard to Council policy.


3. To promote equality and diversity through its selection of nominations to Council.


4. To review the arrangements for developing future leaders to senior management roles.


Membership according to the Constitution

  • Pro-Chancellors (ex officio)
  • Vice-Chancellor (ex officio)
  • Provost and Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor (ex officio)
  • Registrar and Secretary (ex officio)
  • An Independent Member (not necessarily a member of Council), to be elected by all members of Council

In attendance:

  • Deputy Registrar & Director of People Services and Global Partnerships
  • Alumnae representation following dissolution of Convocation



Membership 2018/19

     In attendance:

  • Jacqui Marshall (Deputy Registrar & Director of People Services and Global Partnerships)
  • The Chair of Council as Alumnae Representation following dissolution of Convocation (as an alumna will therefore provide the Alumni Network Group and alumnae representation agreed with Convocation previously)