Conference brochure

An electronic version of the conference programme is available to download in PDF: Transformational Climate Science programme.

The brochure contains a list of conference attendees. Please note that the information will not be fully up to date if you have registered in early May.


View the slides from Thursday's presentations.

View the slides from Friday's presentations.

Thursday 15 May 2014

09:30 Registration Forum Building, Streatham Campus Delegates will be able to register at the information point on the Forum Street.
10:30 Welcome and introduction Alumni Auditorium  
11:00 The challenges of climate change: the outcomes of Working Group I Alumni Auditorium Chaired by Stephen Belcher (Met Office), keynote lecture by Thomas Stocker (University of Bern and WGI Co-Chair).
12:45 Lunch Forum Street A buffet lunch will be provided for conference delegates.
13:30 The challenge of impacts and adaptation: the outcomes of Working Group II Alumni Auditorium Chaired by Neil Adger (University of Exeter), keynote lecture by Chris Field (Stanford University and WGII Co-Chair).
15:30 Break Forum Street  
16:00 The science and policy interface flowing from the IPCC Alumni Auditorium Chaired by Andrea Tilche (European Commission). Panel including; Thomas Stocker, Chris Field, Saffron O'Neill, Asun St Clair, and Georgina Mace.
17:30 Close of daytime conference session  

The evening reception / exhibition is optional for conference delegates and must be booked separately.


17:30 Public event: the future of climate science Forum Building

Members of the public will be invited to this open event which will also feature a showcase of climate research at the Met Office and the University of Exeter.

20:30 End of evening event    

Friday 16 May 2014

09:30 Registration Forum Street  
10:00  The challenge of mitigation: the outcomes of the Working Group III report Alumni Auditorium  Chaired by Jim Skea (Imperial College), keynote lecture by Ottmar Edenhofer (Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research and WGIII Co-Chair).
12:00 Lunch Forum Street A buffet lunch will be provided for conference delegates.
12:45 Frontiers of climate change research Alumni Auditorium Chaired by Julia Slingo (Met Office). Panel includes Tim Lenton, Pierre Friedlingstein, David Stephenson (University of Exeter), Andy Haines (LSHTM), Sam Fankhauser (LSE and UK Climate Change Committee), and Stephen Belcher (Met Office).
14:00 End of conference    


The conference team will be tweeting before and during the event from @UofE_Research using #climate2014. Join in the conversation!

You may be interested to read about a recent Twitter Q&A with University of Exeter climate scientists.


Presentations and panel sessions during the conference will be recorded and publicised online after the event.

Contact - Press

For press office information please contact:

Liz French or Duncan Sandes, Press Office
Email: or 
Phone: 01392 722062 (Press Office)

Contact - Event

For logistical assistance please contact:

Pete Hodges, Research and Knowledge Transfer
Conference office: 01392 722321