About us

The Centre for Biomedical Modelling and Analysis was based in the £52million LSI Building and was initially funded by the Wellcome Trust's ISSF scheme in 2015. Our ongoing research is funded by a further Wellcome ISSF award lasting until 2021, which set up our newer focus TREE, encouraging an emphasis on translation and impact, and independent fellowships awarded to our researchers.

The work of the CBMA linked closely with the EPSRC-funded Centre for Predictive Modelling in Healthcare, and encouraged collaborations with colleagues across the University to establish new interdisciplinary research projects.

The remit was broad: aim to understand the fundamental physiological processes that facilitate health and the perturbations that can lead to disease. Seek to apply this knowledge in innovative ways to improve treatment and quality of life for people. Do this by bridging traditional divides between disciplines, and providing the funding and networks to initiate collaborative projects.

The centre's expertise spanned several areas including:

  • Advanced mathematical and statistical modelling
  • High throughput –omics
  • Multi-modal imaging and image analysis
  • Systems biology and medicine
  • Involvement and engagement of the public in research

The centre provided opportunities for researchers within biomedical and clinical research to develop projects with strong quantitative elements. It provided training courses within the wider University, secondment opportunities for both University researchers and clinicians, and opportunities to develop small research projects via our seed corn funding.

With a strong belief in the benefits of public engagement, the CBMA worked closely with the MAGPIE group to develop research projects.  Researchers participated in many outreach events  both via the University and in the local communities. It also established placement opportunities with the Exeter Maths School, as well as the Nuffield Foundation to help A-level students develop their skills with the support of CBMA researchers.

The Translational Research Exchange @ Exeter (TREE) network continues the work of the Centre for Biomedical Modelling and Analysis, developing it further with an emphasis on building links between biomedical and clinical research. Please visit the TREE website here for more information.

 

Management and Support

 

 Role

Name

Email

Telephone

Institutional Lead

Professor Neil Gow

n.gow@exeter.ac.uk

01392 723006

Research Administrator

Liza Cheshire

l.cheshire@exeter.ac.uk

01392 727474

Communities Engagement Manager

Katharine Fitzpatrick

k.fitzpatrick@exeter.ac.uk

01392 727472

CBMA fellows

NameEmailPhone
Ryan Ames r.ames@exeter.ac.uk  
Charlie Jeynes j.c.g.jeynes@exeter.ac.uk 01392 727472
David Richards david.richards@exeter.ac.uk 01392 727483
Kyle Wedgwood k.c.a.wedgwood@exeter.ac.uk 01392 727485

Independent fellows

NameEmailPhone
Jamie Walker jamie.walker@exeter.ac.uk  01392 723933
Wessel Woldman www201@exeter.ac.uk   
Jan Sieber j.sieber@exeter.ac.uk  01392 723973