About us

Strategic Marketing helps the university make good business and investment decisions on the basis of customer and market data, producing marketing strategies and then delivering tactical campaigns at both a College and Corporate levels to achieve business objectives.
As well as student recruitment and portfolio development, marketing strategies are increasingly focused around reputation management and positioning.

Strategic Marketing operates at all stages of university business and is involved in:

  • Market and customer analysis (including competitor benchmarking)
  • Market forecasting
  • Student recruitment numbers / planning
  • Programme development
  • Reputation management (including ‘brand’)
  • Campaign planning, management and delivery (commissioning marketing materials from other CAMS teams)
  • Campaign evaluation

In terms of team structure, there are five Heads of Communications of Marketing who both face Colleges (acting as a Marketing Consultant for them) and also look after a strategic ‘theme’. Working to them are Campaign Managers and Marketing Officers who plan and deliver marketing campaigns based on strategy. Campaign Managers and Marketing Officers can be ‘embedded’ within Colleges or work on corporate themes.

The Strategic Marketing team offers advice on all aspects of marketing and can be contacted for help with:

  • Market and student numbers / trends (both Exeter and competitors)
  • Programme development (competitor programmes, trends etc) and pricing
  • Marketing planning
  • Branding and identity
  • All aspects of tactical marketing 

College Heads of Communications and Marketing

The Head of Communications and Marketing for CEMPS is Abi Rowden.

Tel: 01392 722309
Email: A.Rowden2@exeter.ac.uk 

The Head of Communications and Marketing for the College of Humanities is Ian Watson.

Tel: 01392 722685
Email: i.watson@exeter.ac.uk

The Head of Communications and Marketing for SISS is Emma Reeve (interim).

Tel: 01392 724839
Email: E.L.Reeve@exeter.ac.uk

The Head of Communications and Marketing for the College of Medicine and Health is Helen Freeman.

Tel: 01392 723241
Email: H.S.Freeman@exeter.ac.uk

The Head of Communications and Marketing role for the University of Exeter Business School is currently vacant.

College Campaign Managers

The Campaign Manager for CEMPS is Tom Stevenson.

Tel: 01392 723113
Email: T.P.Stevenson@exeter.ac.uk

The Campaign Manager for the College of Humanities is Shiona Biggin.

Tel: 01392 726395
Email: S.Biggin@exeter.ac.uk
Team mailbox: HumanitiesMarketing@exeter.ac.uk

The Campaign Manager for CLES is Sophie Thompson.

Tel: 01392 725987
Email: S.H.Fogden@exeter.ac.uk

The Campaign Manager for SSIS (including Arab and Islamic Studies, Education, Law, Politics and International Relations, Sociology, Philosophy and Anthropology) is Gemma Bartlett

Tel: 01392 726373
Email: G.C.Bartlett@exeter.ac.uk
Profile: Gemma Bartlett staff profile

The Campaign Manager for the Medical School is Zoe Rutterford.

Tel: 01392 723776
Email: Z.M.Rutterford@exeter.ac.uk

Lucie Burnett is the Campaign Manager for the Business School.

Tel: 01392 726275
Email: L.Burnett@exeter.ac.uk

Communications and Marketing Officers

The Communications and Marketing Officer for CEMPS is Lee Burford (currently on maternity leave).

Tel: 01392 726497
Email: l.burford@exeter.ac.uk

The Communications and Marketing Officer for CEMPS (PT Mon-Thurs) is Becky Edmunds (maternity cover)

Tel: 01392 726276
Email: R.Heysett@exeter.ac.uk

The Communications and Marketing Officer for UEMS is Michelle Garrett-Martin

Tel: 01392 726318
Email: M.Garrett-Martin@exeter.ac.uk

The Communications and Marketing Officer for CLES is Faye Dadson.

Tel:
01392 722025

Email: F.V.Dadson@exeter.ac.uk

The Communications and Marketing Officer for the College of Humanities (PT Wed-Fri) is Tiffany Delgado-Feist

Tel: 01392 724631
Email: T.Delgado-Feist@exeter.ac.uk
Team mailbox: HumanitiesMarketing@exeter.ac.uk

Tiffany supports the following subjects:

  • Archaeology
  • Classics and Ancient History
  • History
  • Theology and Religion

The Communications and Marketing Officer for the College of Humanities (PT Mon-Wed) is Michelle Langridge

Tel: 01392 724631
Email: M.Langridge@exeter.ac.uk
Team mailbox: HumanitiesMarketing@exeter.ac.uk

Michelle supports the following subjects:

  • Art History & Visual Culture
  • Drama
  • English
  • Film Studies

The Communications and Marketing Officer for the College of Humanities is Chris Watson

Tel: 01392 726757
Email: c.watson3@exeter.ac.uk
Team mailbox: HumanitiesMarketing@exeter.ac.uk

Chris supports the following subjects:

  • English
  • Flexible Combined Honours
  • History
  • Liberal Arts
  • Modern Languages

The Communications and Marketing Officer for UEBS is Jane Atkinson.

Tel:
Email: 
J.Atkinson3@exeter.ac.uk

The Communications and Marketing Officer for UEBS is Chantelle Bibby.

Tel:
Email: 
C.Bibby2@exeter.ac.uk

The Communications and Marketing Officer for UEBS is Ros Wheeler.

Tel:
Email: 
R.Wheeler@exeter.ac.uk

The Communications and Marketing Officer for SSIS is Sarah Lucas.

Email: s.j.lucas@exeter.ac.uk

Student recruitment managers

Chloe Lambert, Student Recruitment and Admissions Manager (EMPS)
Tel: 01392 723070
Email: Chloe.Lambert@exeter.ac.uk

Calum MacLeod, Student Recruitment and Admissions Manager (EMPS)
Tel: 01392 735070
Email: C.MacLeod@exeter.ac.uk     

Sarah Purcell, College Student Recruitment Managers (CLES)

Tel: 01392 727424
Email: s.purcell@exeter.ac.uk

Eleanor Monger, Student Recruitment and Admissions Manager (SSIS)

Tel: 01392 724986
Email: E.A.E.Monger@exeter.ac.uk

Aku Clemmet, Student Recruitment and Admissions Manager (CMH)

Tel: 01492 724914
Email: A.Clemmet@exeter.ac.uk

Jim Boyne, Student Recruitment and Admissions Manager (HUMS)

Tel: 01392 725017
Email: J.Boyne@exeter.ac.uk

Jane Knox, College Student Recruitment Managers (UEBS)

Tel: 01392 723246
Email: A.J.Knox@exeter.ac.uk

Student Recruitment and Admissions Coordinators

Emma Heady, Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (EMPS)

Tel: 01392 725349
Email: eh460@exeter.ac.uk

Sophie Brough, Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (CLES)

Tel:
Email: S.C.Brough@exeter.ac.uk

Tom Allen, Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (SSIS)

Tel: 01392 724739
Email: Tom.Allen@exeter.ac.uk

Oscar Edmunds, Student Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (CMH)
Tel: 01392 727086
Email: O.Edmunds@exeter.ac.uk

Phil Greig, Student Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (CMH)
Tel: 01392 722742
Email: P.Greig@exeter.ac.uk

Judy Power, Student Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (CMH)
Tel: 01392 724891
Email: J.Power@exeter.ac.uk

Claire Turner, Student Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (HUMS)

Tel: 01392 724202
Email: C.L.Turner@exeter.ac.uk

Gillian Coley, Student Recruitment and Admissions Coordinator (UEBS)

Tel: 01392 726679
Email: G.M.Coley@exeter.ac.uk