Skip to main content

Disability Equality Group (DEG)

The University of Exeter has been a Disability Confident Employer since 2014 and has engaged with Time to Change and Mindful Employer accreditations as well.

Following on from the University's engagement in these Disability equality accreditations, the Disability Equality Group meets termly to discuss a range of disability-related issues affecting staff and students at our institution and monitor our Disability Equality Action Plan.

The Group is chaired by the Director of Campus Infrastructure and Operational Support Services and brings together academic and professional services staff, students and colleagues from the Student Guild (Exeter) and the Student Union (Cornwall).

VCEG Level Chair Professor Neil Gow
Academic Member 


Academic Member Professor Louise Lawrence 
Academic Member Claire Lavers 
Disability Network Rep 

Debbie Kinsey

Student Accessibility   Ian Goodchild
Occupational Health/EDI Representative Joanna Hurry 
HR Representative

Christian Carter

CIOSS Representative Peter Scargill 

PS Representative

Rachel Burn  

Students' Guild Representative


Students’ Guild 

Students' Union Representative Charlotte Agnew
EDI Manager

Dorcas Cowan

Project Support 

Tom Caro 

Policy Team representative

Andrew Johnson