FCH staff and subject coordinators

As an FCH student you will be guided by the FCH staff, subject coordinators in each of your subject areas and your personal tutor. All are there to help you choose the most appropriate academic pathways and to get the most out of your degree and your time at the University of Exeter.

Marion Gibson Director Marion.H.Gibson@exeter.ac.uk
Tim Rees Deputy Director (Streatham/St Lukes) T.J.Rees@exeter.ac.uk
Nicola Whyte Deputy Director (Penryn)  N.M.Whyte@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Mike Dobson Study Abroad, Work Experience, Independent Study (Streatham) M.J.Dobson@exeter.ac.uk
Peter Chalk Info Point Administrator (Streatham/St Lukes) fch@exeter.ac.uk
Penryn Info Point Administrator (Penryn)

fch-penryn@exeter.ac.uk

Accounting Dr Chen Lim C.V.Lim@exeter.ac.uk Streatham Court 1.04

Ancient History

Dr Nicolo D'Alconzo DAlconzo@exeter.ac.uk

Amory B378

Anthropology 

Dr Nigel Pleasants N.J.Pleasants@exeter.ac.uk Amory 348

Arabic

Term 1: Dr Christina Phillips  C.Phillips@exeter.ac.uk Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies UG.12 
  Term 2: Dr Lise Storm L.Storm@exeter.ac.uk Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies UG.07

Archaeology

Dr Ioana Oltean I.A.Oltean@exeter.ac.uk Laver 305

Art History & Visual Culture

Term 1: Prof David Houston Jones  D.H.Jones@exeter.ac.uk Old Library 105
  Term 2: Prof Fabrizio Nevola F.Nevola@exeter.ac.uk Old Library 125 
Biochemistry Dr Alison Hill a.m.hill@exeter.ac.uk Geoffrey Pope 416 

Biological Sciences

Dr Alison Hill a.m.hill@exeter.ac.uk Geoffrey Pope 416 
British Sign Language  Dr Sonia Cucino S.Cunico@exeter.ac.uk  
Chemistry Dr Alison Hill a.m.hill@exeter.ac.uk Geoffrey Pope 416 

Chinese (Mandarin)

Dr Maria Scott M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 114 

Classical Studies 

Dr Nicolo D'Alconzo DAlconzo@exeter.ac.uk Amory B378 

Classics 

Dr Nicolo D'Alconzo DAlconzo@exeter.ac.uk Amory B378

Computer Science 

Dr David Wakeling D.Wakeling@exeter.ac.uk Innovation Centre Phase 1 0 

Criminology 

Dr Katharine Boyd K.Boyd@exeter.ac.uk Amory 349 

Drama 

Dr Emily Kreider E.Kreider@exeter.ac.uk Alexander 1st Floor 
Economics Dr Giancarlo Ianulardo G.Ianulardo@exeter.ac.uk Streatham Court 0.75 
English Dr Abram Foley A.Foley@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 249 
Exercise and Sports Science Dr Sarah Jackman S.Jackman@exeter.ac.uk St. Luke's, Richard's 109 

Film Studies 

Dr Abram Foley A.Foley@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 249 

French

Dr Maria Scott M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 114  

Geography 

Dr Jen Bagelman J.Bagelman@exeter.ac.uk Amory D438 
German Dr Maria Scott M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 114  

Greek (Ancient) 

Dr Nicolo D'Alconzo DAlconzo@exeter.ac.uk Amory B378  
History

Dr Richard Ward

R.M.Ward@exeter.ac.uk Amory A127A 
International Relations Dr Alex Prichard A.Prichard@exeter.ac.uk Amory B217 
Italian  Dr Maria Scott M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 114  
Japanese  Dr Sonia Cunico S.Cunico@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 223

Latin 

Dr Nicolo D'Alconzo DAlconzo@exeter.ac.uk Amory B378
Management Prof Michael Rowlinson M.C.Rowlinson@exeter.ac.uk Streatham Court 1.67 
Mathematics Dr Barrie Cooper B.Cooper@exeter.ac.uk Harrison 271A 
Medical Sciences Dr Kate Ellacott K.Ellacott@exeter.ac.uk Wonford Hospital Site, RILD 04.04 

Mediterranean Studies

Dr Nicolo D’Alconzo  N.DAlconzo@exeter.ac.uk Amory B378
Middle East and North African Studies  Term 1: Dr Christina Phillips C.Phillips@exeter.ac.uk  Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies UG.12 
  Term 2: Dr Lise Storm L.Storm@exeter.ac.uk Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies UG.07

Philosophy 

Dr Nigel Pleasants  N.J.Pleasants@exeter.ac.uk  Amory 348 
Politics  Dr Alex Prichard A.Prichard@exeter.ac.uk Amory B217 

Portuguese 

Dr Maria Scott M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk
Queen's 114 
Psychology

Dr Aureliu Lavric

A.Lavric@exeter.ac.uk Washington Singer 233 
Religion

Dr Brandon Gallaher

B.Gallaher@exeter.ac.uk  Amory 355 
Russian Dr Maria Scott  M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk  Queen's 114  
Sociology Dr Nigel Pleasants  N.J.Pleasants@exeter.ac.uk  Amory 348 

Spanish 

Dr Maria Scott M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk  Queen's 114  
Strategy and International Security  Dr David Lewis D.Lewis@exeter.ac.uk   
Sustainability

Dr Mike Dobson

Term 1 - Mondays and Fridays

M.J.Dobson@exeter.ac.uk

Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies, room 31i

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) Nicky Davies (Programme Manager) N.J.Davies@exeter.ac.uk INTO
  Enquiries to: Jeanette Lewin (Coordinator) J.Lewin@exeter.ac.uk INTO

Theology

Dr Brandon Gallaher B.Gallaher@exeter.ac.uk Amory 335 
Work Placement

Dr Mike Dobson

Term 1 - Mondays and Fridays

M.J.Dobson@exeter.ac.uk

Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies, room 31i

Study Abroad

Dr Mike Dobson

Term 1 - Mondays and Fridays

M.J.Dobson@exeter.ac.uk

Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies, room 31i

Business Dr Ufi Alpsahin Cullen U.Cullen@exeter.ac.uk Tremough Innovation Centre G45 
English

Dr Nicola Whyte

N.M.Whyte@exeter.ac.uk  Peter Lanyon Building 150
Environment and Human Health 

Dr Michiel Vos

M.Vos@exeter.ac.uk Medical School
Environmental Law Kate Holtaway K.Holtaway@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A148
Environmental Science Dr Liam Reinhardt Liam.Reinhardt@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A082
French Jordina Sala-Branchadell J.Sala-Branchadell@exeter.ac.uk  
Geography Prof Catherine Leyshon c.brace@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A088
Geography and Environment and Human Health  Prof Catherine Leyshon c.brace@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A090
History

Dr Nicola Whyte

N.M.Whyte@exeter.ac.uk  Peter Lanyon Building 150 
International Relations Dr David Benson D.I.Benson@exeter.ac.uk Environment and Sustainability Institute 0.17 
Law Kate Holtaway K.Holtaway@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A148 
Mathematics Prof Stuart Townley S.B.Townley@exeter.ac.uk Environment & Sustainability Institute 1.39 
Politics Dr David Benson D.I.Benson@exeter.ac.uk Environment and Sustainability Institute 0.17  
Spanish Jordina Sala-Branchadell J.Sala-Branchadell@exeter.ac.uk  

Every FCH student has at least one personal tutor - you may have a tutor in one or both of your main subjects, it depends on the subjects you take.

Personal Tutors (some departments call them Academic Tutors) are there to support your academic development and progress, and as the first port of call for pastoral guidance.

Personal tutors are usually FCH subject co-ordinators, so they can help with both academic aspects of your studies and personal issues. 

They help with your development and getting the most out of your time at university. This is often referred to as personal development planning (PDP) - and the University offers many resources for this.

We try to make sure you have the same tutor throughout your time at the university, so that a good relationship can be built up and tutors can write a meaningful reference for you when you are applying for things after university.

Click here for further information on Personal Tutors.

There are also a very large range of Student Support services on campus should you ever feel you need extra support in your social life or studies.