Contact us:
01392 723456

Innovation, Impact and Business themes

Innovation, Impact and Business (IIB) support our internal academic community and external businesses, government bodies, and other external organisations under five themes:

These themes enable us to:

  • Accelerate partner engagement by brokering relationships and facilitating discussions
  • Build a community of industrial and government connections
  • Support the development of new knowledge, technologies and solutions for businesses
  • Connect academics and businesses more effectively 
  • Identify multidisciplinary opportunities and stimulating research questions
Name and staff profile linkResponsibilityEmail
Rebecca Adams Theme Lead r.adams@exeter.ac.uk
Mark Briers New Energy m.briers@exeter.ac.uk
Sarah Brooks MSc Data Science s.brooks2@exeter.ac.uk
Sally Byrnes Impact and Partnership Development Officer s.byrnes@exeter.ac.uk
Alison Colclough Enabling and Emerging Technologies a.colclough@exeter.ac.uk
Morgane Colleau Degree Apprenticeships m.colleau@exeter.ac.uk
Stuart Farmer Knowledge Exchange Manager - Marine-i s.farmer2@exeter.ac.uk
Conrad Gillespie MSc Data Science MSc c.gillespie@exeter.ac.uk
Isabel Gonzalez Data, Digital Engineering i.gonzalez@exeter.ac.uk
James Grant Energy and marine j.a.t.grant@exeter.ac.uk
Ben Grigg Knowledge Exchange Manager - Marine-i b.grigg@exeter.ac.uk
Julie Lewis-Thompson VSimulators j.a.b.lewis-thompson@exeter.ac.uk
Rachel Marshall Impact and Partnership Development Officer r.marshall@exeter.ac.uk
James McNaughton Advanced engineering and materials j.mcnaughton@exeter.ac.uk
Korneel Verhaeghe IT Degree Apprenticeship k.verhaeghe@exeter.ac.uk
NameResponsibilityEmail
Brigid Howarth Theme lead b.b.howarth@exeter.ac.uk
Belinda Dillon Culture b.dillon@exeter.ac.uk
Jay Gascoigne Creative economy j.gascoigne@exeter.ac.uk
Lara Goodband Exeter Cultural Partnership Director l.m.l.goodband@exeter.ac.uk
John Hartley Programme Manager - Arts and Culture j.c.hartley@exeter.ac.uk
Nicola Nuttall Heritage Innovation n.m.nuttall@exeter.ac.uk
Jodie West Culture Cornwall j.r.west@exeter.ac.uk
Name and staff profile linkResponsibilityEmail
Beccy Mitchell Theme lead (specialism: environmental risk and resilience) r.mitchell2@exeter.ac.uk
Dan Bloomfield SWEEP Impact Evaluation Manager d.bloomfield@exeter.ac.uk
Helen Butler SWEEP Project Manager h.g.butler@exeter.ac.uk
Alan Denbigh Water and conservation alan.denbigh@exeter.ac.uk
Michael Hanley Marine m.hanley@exeter.ac.uk
Alex Huke Agriculture and aquaculture a.r.huke@exeter.ac.uk
Tom James Sustainable development t.james@exeter.ac.uk
Sian Moody Environment  s.moody@exeter.ac.uk
Nicola Rogers Bio-Economy and Aquaculture n.j.rogers@exeter.ac.uk
Jack Rumens Graduate Business Partner d.j.rumens@exeter.ac.uk
Seth Ziolkowski Graduate Business Partner sz311@exeter.ac.uk
NameResponsibilityEmail
Bridget Sealey Theme lead (specialism: education) b.sealey@exeter.ac.uk
Ollie Brown Impact support assistant o.brown@exeter.ac.uk
Josie Butcher Defence, Security and Conflict j.butcher@exeter.ac.uk
Collette Defoe Defence c.defoe@exeter.ac.uk
Lucy Harbinson Degree Apprenticeships l.d.harbinson@exeter.ac.uk
Jess Hurrell Government, crime, justice and law jess.hurrell@exeter.ac.uk
Camilla Norman MBA Programme c.norman2@exeter.ac.uk
Alex Reichardt ELP Network Administrator

a.f.reichardt@exeter.ac.uk

Sophie Smith Leadership, Management and Organisational Strategy s.c.smith@exeter.ac.uk
Michelle Spillar

Defence, security, conflict

m.spillar@exeter.ac.uk
Jane Toohey Finance, Tax and Risk j.s.toohey@exeter.ac.uk
Tor Walton Degree Apprenticeships v.walton@exeter.ac.uk
NameResponsibilityEmail
Adrian Hill Theme lead (specialism: pharma, biotech, diagnostics) a.j.hill@exeter.ac.uk
Edward Gregson-Williams Translational funding e.gregson-williams@exeter.ac.uk
Malcolm Hetheridge Pharma m.j.hetheridge@exeter.ac.uk
Zoe Maniou Clinical development z.maniou@exeter.ac.uk
Claire Miller Health and wellbeing c.m.miller@exeter.ac.uk
Clare Pybus Healthcare and biotechnology c.pybus2@exeter.ac.uk
David Whitehouse Medical technologies d.whitehouse@exeter.ac.uk

IIB teams

Name and staff profile linkResponsibilityEmail
Rebecca Adams Engineering, Mathematics and Physical Sciences r.adams@exeter.ac.uk
Adrian Hill Medical School a.j.hill@exeter.ac.uk
Brigid Howarth Humanities b.b.howarth@exeter.ac.uk
Beccy Mitchell Life and Environmental Sciences r.mitchell2@exeter.ac.uk
Bridget Sealey Social Sciences and International Studies b.sealey@exeter.ac.uk
Michelle Spillar Business School m.spillar@exeter.ac.uk
Chris Evans

Assistant Director, Innovation, Impact and Business

Director, Marchmont Observatory

chris.evans@exeter.ac.uk

The Regional Impact Team brings together the key teams within IIB delivering and supporting regional economic development, including:

  • The Innovation, Impact and Business team in Cornwall develop and maintain strategic relationships with the University’s strategic partners in Cornwall, developing projects and programmes for funding, including the Environmental Sustainability Institute.
  • The Marchmont Observatory, providing economic analysis, intelligence and support with strategic planning for local growth, working closely with LEPs. They are support internal activity and also work externally, as labour market experts, providing research and consultancy. 
  • Peninsula Innovations Ltd - the company that manages the Innovation Centre at the University of Exeter and now responsible for the management of the Science Park, supporting building the community of businesses which exist in and around the Innovation Centre.
  • South West Centre of Excellence in Satellite Applications, based at Goonhilly Earth Station with the University of Exeter as the lead delivery partner. The centre partnership includes GES Ltd, the Met Office, Plymouth University, Falmouth University, PML, and Rothamsted Research. The centre is running a programme of: Wide engagement of existing business/innovation networks in the target markets, to transfer knowledge and to develop new satellite application concepts; Industry-led thematic engagements to focus researchers, business, communities and investors around specific satellite application opportunities. 
  • Environmental Futures and Big Data Impact Lab, which aims to stimulate inward investment and productivity-led growth by positioning Devon as a national and international centre for Environmental and Big Data analytics.
  • The University of Exeter Degree Apprenticeships team.

IIB Cornwall

Amie Fulton Head of IIB Cornwall a.fulton@exeter.ac.uk
Charlotte Bailey ESF WPtS Project Support Officer c.bailey@exeter.ac.uk
Emma Bland Wellbeing and public health e.bland@exeter.ac.uk
Mark Briers Impact and Partnership Development Manager - Cornwall New Energy m.briers@exeter.ac.uk
Belinda Broughton Impact and Partnership Development Officer b.broughton@exeter.ac.uk
Alison Colclough Impact and Partnership Development Manager - Sustainability and Earth Resources a.colclough@exeter.ac.uk
Stuart Farmer Knowledge Exchange Manager, Marine-i s.farmer2@exeter.ac.uk
Jim Grant Head of Cornwall Business Development j.a.t.grant@exeter.ac.uk
Ben Grigg Knowledge Exchange Manager, Marine-i b.grigg@exeter.ac.uk
Michael Hanley Impact and Partnership Development Officer m.hanley@exeter.ac.uk
Alex Huke Impact and Partnership Development Manager - Food security, aquaculture and agriculture a.r.huke@exeter.ac.uk
Hollie Kirk Future Focus (UIP) Knowledge Exchange Manager h.kirk@exeter.ac.uk
Emma Seymour Wellbeing and public health e.k.seymour@exeter.ac.uk
Jaime Tinker Future Focus (UIP) Knowledge Exchange Manager j.tinker@exeter.ac.uk
Jodie West Impact and Partnership Development Manager - Culture Cornwall j.r.west@exeter.ac.uk
Susie Wood Regional Impact and Innovation Admin Support s.c.wood@exeter.ac.uk

Marchmont Employment and Skills Observatory

Chris Evans

Assistant Director, Innovation, Impact and Business

Director, Marchmont Observatory

chris.evans@exeter.ac.uk
Lindsey Anderson Impact and Partnership Development Manager - Community Partnerships l.j.anderson@exeter.ac.uk
Andrew Dean Senior Impact and Partnership Development Manager a.dean@exeter.ac.uk
Ben Neild Assistant Director, Marchmont Observatory and Senior Impact and Partnership Development Manager b.neild@exeter.ac.uk
Hilary Stevens Impact and Partnership Development Manager - Impact Evaluation hilary.j.stevens@exeter.ac.uk

For more information about the Marchmont Observatory please visit their website.

Satellite Applications Catapult

Cathrine Armour Director c.armour@exeter.ac.uk
Sharon Addinall Administrator s.g.s.addinall@exeter.ac.uk

For more information please visit the Satellite Applications Catapult website.

Environmental Futures and Big Data Impact Lab

Sally Boland Programme Co-ordinator s.boland@exeter.ac.uk
Lauren Ireland Marketing and Communications Assistant l.ireland@exeter.ac.uk
Robert Kathro Programme Manager r.o.kathro@exeter.ac.uk
Kathryn White Innovation Manager k.j.white2@exeter.ac.uk

Degree Apprenticeships

Adele Dawson Senior Impact and Partnership Development Manager a.j.dawson@exeter.ac.uk
Lucy Harbinson Project Manager - Degree Apprenticeships l.d.Harbinson@exeter.ac.uk
Tor Walton Impact and Partnership Development Officer v.walton@exeter.ac.uk
Serena Stephenson Impact and Partnership Development Officer s.stephenson@exeter.ac.uk
Name and staff profile linkResponsibilityEmail
Neil Hayes Assistant Director, Commercial and Business Programmes n.w.hayes@exeter.ac.uk
Patrick Frake Commercial and Business Programmes Officer (Portfolio and Programmes) p.frake@exeter.ac.uk
Jennifer Gay Commercial and Business Programmes Officer j.l.gay@exeter.ac.uk
Amy Hall Commercial and Business Programmes Support (Business School) a.j.hall2@exeter.ac.uk
Tori Hammond Commercial and Business Programmes Manager (Intellectual Property) v.hammond@exeter.ac.uk
Tom Hurles Commercial and Business Programmes Manager (Consultancy) t.s.hurles@exeter.ac.uk
Kath Maby Commercial and Business Programmes Officer k.maby@exeter.ac.uk
Dan McLoughlin Commercial and Business Programmes Officer d.mcloughlin2@exeter.ac.uk
Lana Noon Commercial and Business Programmes Officer (Portfolio and Programmes) l.j.noon@exeter.ac.uk

Sophie O'Callaghan Commercial and Business Programmes Manager (Knowledge Transfer Partnerships) s.v.g.ocallaghan@exeter.ac.uk
Jane Pankhurst Senior Commercial and Business Programmes Manager (Knowledge Transfer Partnerships) jane.pankhurst@exeter.ac.uk
Carrie Rye Commercial and Business Programmes Manager (Consultancy) c.a.rye@exeter.ac.uk
Ruth Stansfield Senior Commercial and Business Programmes Manager (Portfolio and Programmes) r.stansfield@exeter.ac.uk
Jim Williams Commercial and Business Programmes Manager, Cornwall (Intellectual Property) j.m.williams@exeter.ac.uk

Office locations

StreathamPenryn

Innovation Centre
University of Exeter
Streatham Campus
Rennes Drive
Exeter
EX4 4RN

Phone: +44 (0) 1392 723456

Tremough Innovation Centre
University of Exeter
Penryn Campus
Cornwall
TR10 9TA

Phone: +44 (0) 1326 259238

Email: business@exeter.ac.uk

Maps and directions