Academic Calendar for Study Abroad, International Exchange and Erasmus

Please note that while teaching and assessment is organised over two semesters, our holidays are organised over three terms. The important dates for your study abroad period at Exeter are the semester dates.

Semester 1: students are expected to stay until the end of the semester, Friday 8 January 2016. Note also that a small number of exams will take place on Saturday 09 January 2016.  

If your home university's academic calendar clashes with Exeter's and you are required to be back and miss our exam week then most Colleges will arrange alternative assessment.  The Business School do not arrange alternative assessment but will help you organise to sit the exams at your university.  Engineering do not arrange alternative assessment and expect students to be at Exeter for the January exams.

Full Year and Semester 2: students are expected to stay until the end of the semester, Friday10 June 2016. Alternative assessments/exams are not an option.

 *Any student taking Drama modules in Semester 2 MUST arrive at Exeter in time to begin classes on Monday 4th January 2016, as teaching begins one week earlier.  This is non-negotiable.

Semester dates 2016-17
Freshers' Week Monday 12 - Sunday 18 September 2016
Semester 1 Monday 19 September 2016 - Saturday 14 January 2017**
Christmas Vacation Monday 12 December 2016- Friday 6th January 2017
Exam Period

Monday 9 January - Saturday 14 January 2017

Semester 2 Monday 16 January - Friday 16 June 2017
Easter Vacation Monday 3 April - Monday 1 May 2017***
Exam period Tuesday 2 May- Saturday 27 May 2017 (TBC)

**many examinations will take place on Saturday 14 January.

**Monday 1st May is a Bank Holiday, the university is closed.