Together with our international research partners, LEEP brings together experts from the diversity of social, economic and natural sciences needed to provide an integrated understanding of the ways in which these complex systems interact.


Professor Ian Bateman Professor of Environmental Economics
  Professor Brett Day Professor of Environmental Economics


Dr Karen Anderson SWEEP Co-Investigator (Leak Detection Project)
Professor Martin Attrill SWEEP Marine Co-Lead
Professor Melanie Austen SWEEP Marine Co-Lead
Dr Amy Binner Senior Lecturer
Dr Darren Clark SWEEP Research Fellow
Emma Clarke SWEEP Impact Case Officer
Patrick Collings Web-developer
Dr Katrina Davis SWEEP Impact Fellow
Dr Sabrina Eisenbarth Lecturer
Dr Michela Faccioli SWEEP Impact Fellow
Dr Silvia Ferrini Senior Research Associate
Dr Carlo Fezzi Senior Lecturer
Professor Guangtao Fu SWEEP Principle Investigator
Professor Kevin Gaston SWEEP Biodiversity and SME Lead
Dr William Gaze SWEEP Health Lead
Dr Amii Harwood Researcher
Jessica Heard SWEEP Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML) Impact Manager
Kate Hind SWEEP Impact Fellow
Dr Tara Hooper SWEEP Project Principal Investigator
Alex Inman Senior Research Fellow
Professor Zoran Kapelan SWEEP Engineering Lead
Jennifer Lockett SWEEP Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML) Impact Manager
Dr Ilya Maclean SWEEP Co-Investigator
Professor Gerd Masselink SWEEP Coastal Protection Lead
Emily Morris Personal Assistant to Professor Ian Bateman 
Dr Rachel Morrison  SWEEP Impact Fellow
Dr Jonathan Mosedale SWEEP Impact Fellow
Professor Juliet Osborne SWEEP Food Sector Lead
Dr Nathan Owen SWEEP Researcher
Dr Timothy Poate SWEEP Impact Fellow
Dr Andy Rees SWEEP Impact Fellow Co-ordinator
Dr Sian Rees SWEEP Co-Investigator and Senior Impact Fellow
Dr Dawn Scott SWEEP Programme Manager
Dr Greg Smith SWEEP Research Fellow
Samantha Starkey SWEEP Communications Officer
Dr Kit Stokes SWEEP Impact Fellow
Dr Diana Tingley SWEEP Impact Evaluation Manager
Dr Grace Twinston-Davies SWEEP Impact Fellow
Professor Charles Tyler SWEEP Water Co-Lead
Dr Ben Wheeler SWEEP Senior Research Fellow
Sara Zonneveld SWEEP Impact Fellow

PhD Students

Ben Balmford

PhD Researcher

Gemma Delafield

PhD Researcher



Mr Matthew Agarwala University of East Anglia
Dr Barnaby Andrews University of East Anglia
Tomas Badura University of East Anglia
Dr Angela Cassidy University of Exeter
Professor Thiago Fonseca Morello Ramalho da Silva Center for Engineering, Modeling and Applied Social Sciences (CECS) at UFABC
Louis Haddrell University of Exeter
Associate Professor Solmaria Halleck-Vega  
Dr Keith Howe University of Exeter
Alex Rusby Harrow School for Boys 
Professor Michael Winter OBE University of Exeter

Honorary appointments

Professor Tim O’Riordan Honorary Professor (University of East Anglia)
Professor Kerry Turner Honorary Visiting Professor (University of East Anglia)
Gretchen Daily Bing Professor of Environmental Science at Stanford University
Dieter Helm Official Fellow in Economics at New College, Oxford, Professor of Energy Policy at the University of Oxford, Professorial Research Fellow of the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment and Chair of the Natural Capital Committee
Dame Georgina Mace Professor of Biodiversity and Ecosystems and Director of the UCL Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research (CBER)
Tim O’Riordan

Emeritus Professor of Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia

Stephen Polasky Regents Professor and the Fesler-Lampert Professor of Ecological/Environmental Economics at the University of Minnesota
Sir Robert Watson Director of Strategic Development at the Tyndall Centre for Climate Change Research, University of East Anglia