

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE (Summary Report)

21 June 2023

Nominations Committee Summary Report

Document title:	Summary Report of Nominations Committee Meeting (21 June 2023)
Author/s:	Eloise Norris (Governance Coordinator)
Sponsor on UEB:	Mike Shore-Nye (Senior Vice-President and Registrar & Secretary)
Document History:	
Paper Classification:	Open – For online publication.
Type of Paper:	For Information.
Appendices	N/A

1. Council Membership 2023-24

- 1.1 Nominations Committee **noted** the membership of Council in 2023-24, including the remaining vacancies and the following Members who were due to retire from Council on 31st July 2023:
- 1.1.1 Sarah Buck (Pro-Chancellor and Senior Independent Governor Class I);
- 1.1.2 Graham Cole (Independent Member Class II);
- 1.1.3 Amoetsoe Mkwena (Independent Member Class II);
- 1.1.4 Lounette Dyer (Independent Member Class II);
- 1.1.5 Jo Binding (Independent Member Class II);
- 1.1.6 Professor Alexandra Gerbasi (Senate Representative Class III);
- 1.1.7 Georgi Griškevičienė (President, Falmouth and Exeter Students' Union Class V);
- 1.1.8 Lily Margaroli (President, Exeter Students' Guild Class V).
- 1.2 It was agreed that the recent appointments of Sally Cabrini (Pro-Chancellor and Senior Independent Governor Class I) and Karime Hassan (Independent Member Class II) to Council from 1st August 2023 would not be announced until all new Council Members for 2023-24 had been formally appointed to enable a coordinated communications announcement.
- 1.3 It was **noted** that the recruitment process was underway for two independent members with Audit and Financial expertise with one intended to become the Chair of Audit and Risk Committee in AY 2024-25.
- 1.4 The Committee **endorsed** to Council the recommended extension of Richard Atkins's term of office as Pro-Chancellor and Deputy Chair to a third term until 31 July 2026.

1.5 The Committee **noted** that a later meeting of Council Nominations Committee would be scheduled in w/c 26th June 2023 to formally nominate the appointment of additional Independent Members to Council following the conclusion of the current recruitment search.

2. Council Committees Membership 2023-24

- 2.1 Nominations Committee noted the membership of Council Committees in 2023-24 and **endorsed** the recommended membership for Council Sub-Committees in 2023/24, including Audit and Risk Committee, Remuneration Committee and Nominations Committee;
- 2.2 the Committee **agreed** that that the membership of Council subcommittees would continue to be reviewed in light of Council Assurance review and that further consideration would be given to reconstituting the Council Financial Review Subcommittee with a revised membership.
- 2.3 that further consideration would be given to expanding the Independent Membership on Council Standing Committee.

3. Update on Council Assurance Review: Scope Membership and Terms of Reference

3.1 The Committee **endorsed** the scope, methodology and provisional timescales for the Council Assurance Review, which was scheduled to report to Nominations Committee and Council in the Academic Year 2023-24.

4. Council Member Induction Programme

- 4.1 The Committee **endorsed** the Council induction programme and buddying scheme for implementation in the Academic Year 2023-24 to support the onboarding and induction of new members and **agreed** to finalize specific assigned Council buddy pairings at the next meeting of the Committee.
- 4.2 It was noted that the induction and onboarding process would include a formal, in-person induction session on Wednesday 11 October 2023 (12noon-4pm) and that this would be a mandatory requirement for all new members of Council (including Independent Members and Student, Professional Services and Senate Representatives).

5. Trustee Nominations 2023/24

- 5.1 The Committee **endorsed** to Council the following recommendations for appointment as trustees to the Exeter Retirement Benefits Scheme:
- 5.1.1 Steve Balmont (1st August 2023 31 July 2025)
- 5.1.2 Ray O'Connell (1st August 2023 31st July 2025)
- 5.1.3 Margaret Laithwaite (1st August 2023 31st July 2027)
- 5.2 The Committee **endorsed** to Council the following recommendations for appointment as members of the Investment and Endowment Group:
- 5.2.1 Sarah Bourgein and Nick Roberts.