The Music Office collaborates with a large number of experienced, peripatetic music teachers who have been selected because of the high level of their practical experience and teaching skills. The teaching is given primarily to University of Exeter students who have been awarded tuition via the Music Scholarship Programme and the variety of instruments and voices taught atExeterfurther enhances the student experience and allow music tuition to be continued alongside academic studies.

Tuition has been provided by the following music teachers (in alphabetical order);  

  • Michael Allnatt - Double Bass
  • Martin Andrew - Percussion
  • Ian Comboy - Voice
  • Julie De’Ath Lancaster- Voice
  • Sarah Deere-Jones - Harp
  • Andrew Gillett - Viola
  • Sarah Greinig - Violin
  • Steve Gordon - Classical Guitar
  • Bryony Hoult - Harp
  • Natasha Iuchanka - Voice technique, music theory and Piano
  • Ed Kay - Oboe
  • Alison Kettlewell - Voice
  • Anne Kimber - Flute
  • Pippa MacDougal - Voice
  • Craig Milverton - Jazz Piano
  • Brian Moore - Trumpet
  • Jane Pirie - Cello
  • Cheryl Rosevear - Voice
  • James Sharp - Drums
  • Kate Shetliffe - Piano
  • Matthew Scott - Guitar
  • Simon Scott - Bass Guitar
  • Robb Tooley - Trombone
  • Nick White - Clarinet & Saxophone
  • Trevor Wiggins - African Drumming
  • Isabelle Woollcott - Double Bass

This list of teachers is by no means exhaustive and is only an indication of the tutors who have taught recently. The range of instruments and voices taught on the scholarship programme varies from year to year, depending upon the interests of the scholars and their chosen instrument or vocal style. If we do not have a tutor for your chosen music discipline, we will do our best to find a suitable teacher for you.  

If you would like to contact any of the tutors regarding receiving private tuition, or enquire about music tuition in general, please contact the Music Office