The London Film School

London Film School (LFS) is the first film school in the UK. Since 1956 LFS has trained thousands of directors, cinematographers, editors and other film professionals now working across the globe. Alumni include many great filmmakers and very successful technicians, covering all kinds of cinema - names like Mike Leigh, Michael Mann, Tak Fujimoto, Roger Pratt, Ueli Steiger, Iain Smith, Danny Huston, Franc Roddam, Anne Hui, Duncan Jones and Bill Douglas. LFS is one of only three ‘Skillset Film Academies’, accredited by the UK film industry as a Centre of Excellence.

Working together

The University of Exeter and London Film School have entered into an agreement, which will enable postgraduate and doctoral film students to hone their filmmaking skills alongside their academic studies.

The alliance has enabled the institutions to launch a number of initiatives, including the MA International Film Business. This programme offers students the chance to develop a unique set of skills related to the business of the film industry on both practical and theoretical fronts. They will have access to the professional expertise, experience and facilities at the LFS as well as to the academic excellence of researchers, research culture, and academic resources at the University of Exeter.

LFS Governors


Greg Dyke, Professor Diana Green CBE DL, Graham Easton, Kemal Akhtar, Olivier Kaempfer, Peter Armstrong, Helen Dudley CBE, Julie Parmenter, Guy Wilson.