The 2016 poster showcase offered postgraduates the opportunity to demonstrate the value of their research.

Previous winners

2016 Winners

Best poster - humanities and social sciences (HASS)
Postgraduate: Dawn Thorley, College of Social Sciences and International Studies
Poster: Perfectionism

Best poster - science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM)
Postgraduate: Kirsten Thompson, College of Life and Environmental Sciences
Poster: Secrets of the dead: Examining genetic kinship in Gray's beaked whales

Most innovative poster
Postgraduate: Sarah Foxen, College of Humanities
Poster: Investigating language and identity in the (Franco-)Belgian borderland: The untold story

On behalf of Researcher Development and Research Services / Innovation, Impact, and Business, we would like to thank the guest judges.

In addition, special thanks also go to Dr Rob Freathy, Associate Dean for Postgraduate Research and Deputy Director of the University of Exeter Doctoral College, for his assistance with the prize giving ceremony.

2015 winners

The 2015 Postgraduate Research Showcase took place between 27 – 29 April 2015.

It gave our postgraduate community the chance to demonstrate their research and innovations to the wider University and external stakeholders.

Prizes worth up to £750 were awarded across three categories and the winners were:

Best poster – Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (HASS)
Winner: Mathilde Pavis, College of Social Sciences and International Studies
Poster: Who values disabled dance artists?

Best poster - Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM)
Winner: Carole Lee, College of Life and Environmental Sciences
Poster: Can environmental enrichment improve the welfare of laboratory zebrafish?

Most innovative poster
Winner: Martha Vardaki, College of Engineering, Mathematics and Physical Sciences
Poster: Can light help us diagnose prostate cancer?

Contact details

For enquiries relating to 2016’s Postgraduate Research Showcase, please contact the Researcher Development Team.