The ESRC seminar series brought together specialists in neuroscience, law and policymaking.

ESRC seminar series 2011/12

Details and participants

This one-year ESRC seminar series, hosted by the departments of Law and Psychology at the University of Exeter, brought together specialists from the fields of neuroscience, law and policymaking, to address questions relating to brain development, neurological injury and the law.

Three seminars were held in London and one in Brussels, Belgium. The final seminar was held in the Houses of Parliament and was jointly hosted by the Parliamentary Office for Science and Technology.

Speakers at the seminar series included:

  • Dr Andrew Curran, Consultant Paediatric Neurologist, Alderhay Paediatric Hosptial, Manchester.
  • Prof Sarah-Jayne Blakemore, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, University College London.
  • Dr Eamon McCory, Consultant Clinical Psychologist, (NSPCC), Senior Lecturer, University College London.
  • Dr Ian Frampton, Clinical Tutor, University of Exeter.
  • Dr Rob Forsyth, Consultant, Senior Lecturer, Institute of Neuroscience, Newcastle University.
  • Dr Seena Fazel, Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist, University of Oxford.
  • Dr Huw Williams, Associate Professor of Clinical Neuropsychology, Exeter University.
  • Dr Eileen Vizard, Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist, Institute of Child Health, University College London.
  • Prof Roger Brownsword, Kings College School of Law, London.
  • Prof Nigel Eastman, Emeritus Professor of Law and Ethics in Psychiatry, St George’s, University of London.
  • Mr Mark Ashford, Partner and Head of Youth Crime Department, TV Edwards Chambers.
  • Ms Laura Hoyano, Hackney Fellow and Tutor in Law, Oxford University.
  • Dr Nathan Hughes, Lecturer in Social Policy and Social Work and Advisor on Community Justice, Birmingham University.
  • Ms Auriana Griffiths, Partner in the Clinical Negligence Team at Irwin Mitchell Solicitors.
  • Mr Howard Jasper, Strategy Advisor and Health Lead, Youth Justice Board.
  • Dr Karen McAuliffe, Senior Lecturer in Law, Exeter University.
  • Dr Atina Krajewska, Lecturer in Law, Cardiff University.