Health and Safety

Location

The office is based in Hope Hall on the Streatham Campus.

Safety & Occupational Health
University of Exeter
Hope Hall
Prince of Wales Road
Exeter EX4 4PL

Tel: 01392 725347
Fax: 01392 723115
Email: safety@exeter.ac.uk

Website

The Health and Safety website has more information on policies and available guidance.

Kate Lindsell

Assistant Director of HR (Safety, Health and Wellbeing)

Email: k.lindsell@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 725341 (internal 5341)

Sylvia Dell

Safety Systems Administrator

Sylvia is team lead for Incident Reporting Database, Trent booking, radiation database, ISOstock implementation, eye test reimbursement process, First Aider database, Fire Marshalls database, and is the initial contact for data requests and reports.

Email: s.dell@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 725347 (internal 5347)

Health and Safety team

Maggie Morgan

Assistant Health & Safety Advisor

Maggie has been a member of the Health and Safety Team since 2007.  She is the team lead for training and currently delivers induction training to all new staff and the refresher update training to existing staff. Maggie is also the lead for manual handling.

Email: m.p.morgan@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 725346 (internal 5346)

Aurelia Trollope

Assistant Health & Safety Advisor

Aurelia has been a member of the Health and Safety team for over ten years and is the standard lead for DSE, First Aid, Face Fitting (RPE),  slips, trips and falls and walkabout Safety Inspections.  Aurelia is currently preparing to start the safety standard auditing process where she will be checking that we are implementing new Health and Safety Standards across the University.

Email: a.c.trollope@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 725340 (internal 5340)

Rhian Loosemore

Health & Safety Advisor

Rhian is one of the newest recruits into the Health and Safety Team. Rhian joined the University in 2013 and is currently leading the development of standards covering incident reporting & investigation and COSHH management. Rhian is also the team link to the Cornwall campuses. Rhian is a key point of contact for anyone needing advice or support from the Health and Safety Team.

Email: r.loosemore@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 726175 (internal 6175)

Fire safety team

Robin (Bob) Sturtivant

Fire Safety Assistant

Having retired from uniformed service after 33 years Bob joined the team in 2013 and leads on the development and delivery of Fire training.  Bob is also a key member of the Fire Risk Assessment Project team

Email: r.sturtivant@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 726176 (internal 6176)

John Howkins

Fire Safety Manager

John has a Fire Service background and is our competent person for fire matters.  He joined the team in 2013 and is currently working on an improvement plan to develop all aspects of fire safety within the organisation. On a daily basis John assists managers and staff with specific fire related queries and is also the lead for the Fire Risk Assessment Project.

Email: j.howkins@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 725338 (internal 5338)

Ian Heywood

Fire Safety Risk Assessor

Ian has joined the team to assist in the Fire Risk Assessment Project. Ian is responsible for carrying out Fire Risk Assessments in all buildings across the University and working with managers to resolve any issues.

Email: i.m.heywood@exeter.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0)1392 726176 (internal 6176)