Working Groups

University Athena SWAN Working Group

The Athena SWAN Working Group has been established by the University, to provide a forum to:

  • Coordinate the creation of solid implementation plans for both the aspirations which were stated in the University Bronze application and for the plans for applications to Silver Award status.
  • Ensure that there is clear communication and 'joined up thinking'.
  • Coordinate and share best practise 
  • Act as an ‘umbrella forum’ for Athena SWAN and gender equality related initiatives and associated working groups.
  • Be a mechanism for disseminating information and sharing examples of good practice to staff, students and other stakeholders
  • Provide staff and students a focus point to bring gender equality issues for discussion
  • Discuss gender equality issues of strategic significance and mutual interest and make recommendations on how the University could respond.
  • Promote a culture within the Group that values the contributions of all its members.
  • To consult with Colleges and Professional Services to ensure their needs are considered in all work that is proposed.

Current members

Professor Mark Goodwin (Chair) Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Affairs)
Professor Jo Little       Professor in Gender and Geography
Dr Robert Wilson Senior Lecturer in Conservation Biology
Professor Steve Eichhorn Professor of Materials Science, Head of Engineeering
Professor Peter Challenor Professor Mathematics
Dr Sharon Dixon Senior Lecturer in Sports Biomechanics
Dr Safi Darden Lecturer, Psychology
Dr Sarah Dean Senior Lecturer in Health Services Research
Linda Peka  Director of College Services
Dr Sharon Strawbridge  Senior Lecturer in Physics and Astronomy 
Dr Frank Van Veen Senior Lecturer in Climate Change Biology
Professor Nina Wedell Professor of Evolutionary Biology
Professor Nick Stone Professor of Biomedical Imaging and Biosensing
Sarah Downing Executive Officer
Professor Manuela Barreto Professor of Social and Organisational Psychology
Dorcas Cowan Equality and Diversity Manager
Dr Helen Butler  Research Services Manager
Professor Mark Baldwin Head of Mathematics and Computer Science
Catherine Bailey Employee Services Team Leader (Recruitment)
Naomi Armstrong Vice-President Welfare & Diversity
Helen Dickason Equality and Diversity Team, Data Administrator
Anne-Marie Baker Equality and Diversity Team, Project Manager


If you have any comments or feedback, please email

For information on the Discipline Working Groups, please see their Athena SWAN webpages: