Calendar 2016/17

University Terms 

Approved by Council, 14 April 2016

 

2016-17  
Autumn Term Monday 19 September - Friday 9 December
Spring Term Monday 9 January - Friday 31 March
Summer Term Tueday 2 May - Friday 16 June
2017-18  
Autumn Term Monday 25 September - Friday 15 December
Spring Term Monday 8 January - Thursday 29 March
Summer Term Monday 30 April - Friday 15 June
2018-19  
Autumn Term Monday 24 September - Friday 14 December
Spring Term Monday 7 January - Friday 29 March
Summer Term Monday 29 April - Friday 14 June

Note: The dates given above are for standard University terms: however, for some programmes the dates of required attendance may vary.

 

Academic Calendar 2016-2017

August 2016
Sunday 7 August  
Monday 8 August  
Tuesday 9 August  
Wednesday 10 August  
Thursday 11 August  
Friday 12 August  
Saturday 13 August  
Sunday 14 August  
Monday 15 August Referred / deferred examinations begin 
Tuesday 16 August  
Wednesday 17 August  
Thursday 18 August  
Friday 19 August  
Saturday 20 August  
Sunday 21 August  
Monday 22 August  
Tuesday 23 August  
Wednesday 24 August  
Thursday 25 August  
Friday 26 August  
Saturday 27 August  
Sunday 28 August  
Monday 29 August Bank Holiday
Tuesday 30 August  
Wednesday 31 August  
September 2016
Thursday 1 September  
Friday 2 September  
Saturday 3 September  
Sunday 4 September  
Monday 5 September  
Tuesday 6 September PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 7 September  
Thursday 8 September  
Friday 9 September  
Saturday 10 September  
Sunday 11 September  
Monday 12 September Welcome Week for new Students
VCEG Planning Meeting
Tuesday 13 September

VCEG Planning Meeting
Doctoral College Strategic Board, 1:30pm

Wedneday 14 September PSLT, 9:30am
Thursday 15 September  
Friday 16 September

 

Saturday 17 September  
Sunday 18 September  
Monday 19 September Autumn Term Begins
Tuesday 20 September PSLT, 9:30am
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm
Wednesday 21 September

Senior Management Group Planning Day

Thursday 22 September  
Friday 23 September  
Saturday 24 September Pre-Application Open Day (Cornwall Campus) 
Sunday 25 September  
Monday 26 September VCEG, 10:00am
Remuneration Committee, 1:45pm
Tuesday 27 September

PSLT, 9:00am

Wednesday 28 September

 

Thursday 29 September

 

Friday 30 September

Audit Committee, 10:00am 

October 2016
Saturday 1 October Pre-Application Open Day (Exeter Campuses) 
Sunday 2 October  
Monday 3 October VCEG, 10:00am
Professorial and Senior Salaries Committee, 12:00pm
Tuesday 4 October PSLT, 9:30am
Health & Safety Committee, 10:00am
Flexible Combined Honours Board of Studies, 2:30pm 
Wednesday 5 October  
Thursday 6 October  
Friday 7 October  
Saturday 8 October  
Sunday 9 October  
Monday 10 October VCEG, 10:00am  
Tuesday 11 October PSLT, 9:30am
Cornwall Campuses Strategy Group, 11:30am
Wednesday 12 October

Council Briefing Day
Taught Programmes Faculty Board, 2:00pm

Thursday 13 October   Council Activities, 10:00am
Council, 2:00pm
Management Group of the Doctoral College, 1:30pm
Friday 14 October  
Saturday 15 October  
Sunday 16 October  
Monday 17 October VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 18 October PSLT, 9:30am
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm
Wednesday 19 October  
Thursday 20 October  
Friday 21 October  
Saturday 22 October  
Sunday 23 October  
Monday 24 October VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 25 October PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 26 October Open Day (Exeter Campuses) 
Thursday 27 October  
Friday 28 October  
Saturday 29 October  
Sunday 30 October  
Monday 31 October VCEG, 10:00am  
November 2016
Tuesday 1 November PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 2 November Academic Staff Development Steering Group, 10:00am
Thursday 3 November Audit Committee, 10:00am
Friday 4 November PCMD Joint Approval and Review Board, 10:00am
Saturday 5 November  
Sunday 6 November  
Monday 7 November VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 8 November PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 9 November

Senate, 2:00pm 

Thursday 10 November Joint Committee for Consultation and Negotiation, 10:00am 
Friday 11 November  
Saturday 12 November  
Sunday 13 November  
Monday 14 November VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 15 November

PSLT, 9:30am
Ethics Committee, 11:00am 
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm

Wednesday 16 November

Senior Management Group, 1:00pm (lunch); 2:00pm (meeting)

Thursday 17 November  
Friday 18 November  
Saturday 19 November  
Sunday 20 November  
Monday 21 November VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 22 November

PSLT, 9:30am

Wednesday 23 November Council Nominations Committee, 2:00pm
Thursday 24 November Council (Approval of Financial Statements)/Council Away Day, 9:00am 
Friday 25 November  
Saturday 26 November  
Sunday 27 November  
Monday 28 November

VCEG, 10:00am

Tuesday 29 November

PSLT, 9:30am

Wednesday 30 November

 

December 2016
Thursday 1 December  
Friday 2 December  
Saturday 3 December  
Sunday 4 December  
Monday 5 December VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 6 December PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 7 December  
Thursday 8 December  
Friday 9 December Autumn Term ends 
Saturday 10 December  
Sunday 11 December  
Monday 12 December VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 13 December PSLT, 9:30am
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm 
Wednesday 14 December Remuneration Committee, 3:00pm
Thursday 15 December Council Activities, 10:00am
Council, 2:00pm 
Friday 16 December  
Saturday 17 December Congregation for Conferment of Degrees (Winter Ceremony) 
Sunday 18 December  
Monday 19 December  
Tuesday 20 December  
Wednesday 21 December  
Thursday 22 December  
Friday 23 December  
Saturday 24 December  
Sunday 25 December Christmas Day
Monday 26 December Boxing Day
Tuesday 27 December Christmas Day Holiday
Wednesday 28 December Closure Day
Thursday 29 December Closure Day
Friday 30 December Closure Day
Saturday 31 December  
January 2017
Sunday 1 January New Year's Day 
Monday 2 January New Year's Day Holiday
Tuesday 3 January  
Wednesday 4 January  
Thursday 5 January  
Friday 6 January  
Saturday 7 January  
Sunday 8 January  
Monday 9 January Assessment Week (all years)
Spring Term Begins
VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 10 January PSLT, 9:30am
Doctoral College Strategic Board, 1:30pm
Wednesday 11 January  
Thursday 12 January Cornwall Campuses Strategy Group, 10:30am
Friday 13 January  
Saturday 14 January  
Sunday 15 January  
Monday 16 January VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 17 January PSLT, 9:30am
Wedneday 18 January  
Thursday 19 January  
Friday 20 January  
Saturday 21 January  
Sunday 22 January  
Monday 23 January VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 24 January PSLT, 9:30am
Health & Safety Committee, 10:00am
Flexible Combined Honours Board of Studies, 2:30pm
Wednesday 25 January  
Thursday 26 January  
Friday 27 January  
Saturday 28 January  
Sunday 29 January  
Monday 30 January VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 31 January PSLT, 9:30am
February 2017
Wednesday 1 February Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional)
Taught Programmes Faculty Board, 2:00pm
Thursday 2 February Management Group of the Doctoral College, 1:30pm
Friday 3 February  
Saturday 4 February  
Sunday 5 February  
Monday 6 February VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 7 February PSLT, 9:30am
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm
Wednesday 8 February Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional)
Senior Management Group, 1:00pm (lunch); 2:00pm (meeting)
Thursday 9 February  
Friday 10 February  
Saturday 11 February Offer-Holder Visit Day (Cornwall Campus) 
Sunday 12 February  
Monday 13 February VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 14 February PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 15 February Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional)
Thursday 16 February Joint Committee for Consultation and Negotiation, 10.00am 
Friday 17 February PCMD Joint Approval and Review Board (Tamar Science Park), 10:00am 
Saturday 18 February  
Sunday 19 February  
Monday 20 February VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 21 February

PSLT, 9:30am
Ethics Committee, 1:30pm
Council Nominations Committee, 4:00pm

Wednesday 22 February

Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional)
Council Briefing Day

Thursday 23 February

Council Activities, 10:00am 
Council, 2:00pm  

Friday 24 February Audit Committee, 10:00am
Saturday 25 February Offer-Holder Visit Day (Cornwall Campus)
Sunday 26 February  
Monday 27 February

VCEG, 10:00am

Tuesday 28 February

PSLT, 9:30am 

March 2017
Wednesday 1 March

Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional) 

Thursday 2 March

 

Friday 3 March  
Saturday 4 March

 

Sunday 5 March  
Monday 6 March VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 7 March PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 8 March Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional)
Thursday 9  March  
Friday 10 March  
Saturday 11 March Offer-Holder Visit Day (Cornwall Campus)
Sunday 12 March  
Monday 13 March VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 14 March PSLT, 9:30am
Cornwall Campuses Strategy Group, 11:00am
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm
Wednesday 15 March Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional)
Senate, 2:00pm
Thursday 16 March  
Friday 17 March  
Saturday 18 March  
Sunday 19 March  
Monday 20 March VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 21 March PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 22 March Offer-Holder Visit Day (Exeter Campuses) (Provisional)
Thursday 23 March  
Friday 24 March  
Saturday 25 March  
Sunday 26 March  
Monday 27 March VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 28 March PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 29 March  
Thursday 30 March  
Friday 31 March Spring Term Ends
April 2017
Saturday 1 April  
Sunday 2 April  
Monday 3 April VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 4 April PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 5 April  
Thursday 6 April Council Activities, 10:00am
Council, 2:00pm 
Friday 7 April  
Saturday 8 April  
Sunday 9 April  
Monday 10 April VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 11 April PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 12 April  
Thursday 13 April   
Friday 14 April Good Friday
Saturday 15 April  
Sunday 16 April Easter Day
Monday 17 April Easter Monday 
Tuesday 18 April  
Wednesday 19 April  
Thursday 20 April  
Friday 21 April  
Saturday 22 April

 

Sunday 23 April  
Monday 24 April VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 25 April PSLT, 9:30am
Doctoral College Strategic Board, 1:30pm
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm
Wednesday 26 April  
Thursday 27 April Health & Safety Committee, 10:00am
Friday 28 April Cornwall Campuses Strategy Group, 1:30pm
Saturday 29 April  
Sunday 30 April  
May 2017
Monday 1 May Bank Holiday 
Tuesday 2 May Summer Term Begins
VCEG, 10:00am
Wednesday 3 May PSLT, 9:30am
Senior Management Group, 1:00pm (lunch); 2:00pm (meeting)  
Thursday 4 May Academic Staff Development Steering Group, 10:00am
Friday 5 May  
Saturday 6 May  
Sunday 7 May  
Monday 8 May Assessments for all students begin
VCEG, 10:00am  
Tuesday 9 May

PSLT, 9:30am
Flexible Combined Honours Board of Studies Meeting, 2:30pm

Wednesday 10 May

Audit Committee, 10:00am

Thursday 11 May

 

Friday 12 May

 

Saturday 13 May

 

Sunday 14 May  
Monday 15 May VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 16 May PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 17 May  
Thursday 18 May Joint Committee for Consultation and Negotiation, 10:00am
Friday 19 May  
Saturday 20 May  
Sunday 21 May  
Monday 22 May VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 23 May PSLT, 9:30am
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm 
Wednesday 24 May Joint Meeting of Council and Senate 
Thursday 25 May Council Activities, 10:00am
Council, 2:00pm 
Friday 26 May Ethics Committee, 10:00am
Saturday 27 May  
Sunday 28 May  
Monday 29 May Bank Holiday 
Tuesday 30 May

VCEG, 10:00am 

Wednesday 31 May

PSLT, 9:30am

June 2017
Thursday 1 June Cornwall Campuses Strategy Group, 11:00am
Friday 2 June  
Saturday 3 June  
Sunday 4 June  
Monday 5 June VCEG, 10:00am 
Tuesday 6 June Pre-Application Open Day (Exeter Campuses)
PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 7 June Taught Programmes Faculty Board, 2:00pm 
Thursday 8 June Management Group of the Doctoral College, 1:30pm
Friday 9 June PCMD Joint Approval and Review Board (WK Norman Conference Room), 10:00am
Saturday 10 June Pre-Application Open Day (Cornwall Campus) 
Sunday 11 June  
Monday 12 June VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 13 June PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 14 June  
Thursday 15 June  
Friday 16 June Summer Term Ends
Flexible Combined Honours Examination Board, 9:00am
Flexible Combined Honours Board of Studies, 11:30am 
Saturday 17 June  
Sunday 18 June  
Monday 19 June VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 20 June PSLT, 9:30am 
Capital Investment Group, 3:00pm
Wednesday 21 June Senior Management Group, 1:00pm (lunch); 2:00pm (meeting)
Thursday 22 June   
Friday 23 June  
Saturday 24 June  
Sunday 25 June  
Monday 26 June VCEG, 10:00am  
Tuesday 27 June PSLT, 9:30am
Council Nominations Committee, 1:00pm
Remuneration Committee, 3:00pm
Wednesday 28 June Senate, 2:00pm 
Thursday 29 June  
Friday 30 June  
July 2017
Saturday 1 July  
Sunday 2 July  
Monday 3 July VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 4 July PSLT, 9:30am
Wednesday 5 July  
Thursday 6 July  
Friday 7 July  
Saturday 8 July  
Sunday 9 July  
Monday 10 July VCEG, 10:00am
Tuesday 11 July PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 12 July  
Thursday 13 July Council Activities, 10:00am
Council, 2:00pm
Friday 14 July  
Sarturday 15 July  
Sunday 16 July  
Monday 17 July Congregation for Conferment of Degrees
Tuesday 18 July Congregation for Conferment of Degrees
Wednesday 19 July Congregation for Conferment of Degrees 
Thursay 20 July Congregation for Conferment of Degrees 
Friday 21 July Congregation for Conferment of Degrees 
Saturday 22 July  
Sunday 23 July  
Monday 24 July Congregation for Conferment of Degrees, at Cornwall 
Tuesday 25 July PSLT, 9:30am 
Wednesday 26 July  
Thursday 27 July  
Friday 28 July  
Saturday 29 July  
Sunday 30 July  
Monday 31 July  
August 2017