Calendar 2019/20

Chaplaincy

Ramona Nash

Coordinating Chaplain

R.M.J.Nash@exeter.ac.uk

Revd Hannah Alderson

Church of England Chaplain

h.alderson@exeter.ac.uk

Peter Lee

Baha'i Chaplain

peter.lee@exeter.ac.uk

Revd Simon Taylor

Baptist Chaplain

s.j.taylor@exeter.ac.uk

John Danvers

Buddhist Chaplain

j.danvers@exeter.ac.uk

Fr Michael Wheaton

Catholic Chaplain

m.t.wheaton@exeter.ac.uk

Hannah Richards

Independent Churches Chaplain

h.richards5@exeter.ac.uk

Tony Reese

Jewish Chaplain

a.j.reese@exeter.ac.uk

David Kolitz

Jewish Associate Chaplain

d.l.kolitz@exeter.ac.uk

Revd Han Sungil

Methodist Chaplain

s.han3@exeter.ac.uk

Ahmad Nozir

Muslim Chaplain

a.nozir@exeter.ac.uk

Mohammed Abrar

Muslim Chaplain

mohammed.abrar@outlook.com

Brandon Gallaher

Orthodox Associate Chaplain

exeterorthodoxchaplain@gmail.com

Rosie Baines

Quaker Chaplain

r.baines@exeter.ac.uk

Kate Cramer

Quaker Chaplain

k.cramer@exeter.ac.uk

Anglican Chaplaincy Team   T 01392 725858 anglicanchaplaincy@exeter.ac.uk

Multifaith Chaplaincy Administrator (temporary) Maggie Emery T 01392 723649 chaplaincy@exeter.ac.uk

The University Chaplaincy is based at The Chaplaincy Hub, The Old Library and the Forum Chaplaincy Office, behind the Careers Zone in the Old Library. T.  01392 725858 M. 07501 512855 E. chaplaincy@exeter.ac.uk. All Chaplaincy details can be accessed on-line www.exeter.ac.uk/chaplaincy

The University Multifaith Chaplaincy serves all members of the University - students and staff - of all Faiths and none, undergraduates and postgraduates. The Multifaith Chaplaincy Team is always available and Chaplains can be found at The Chaplaincy Hub in the Old Library or in the Multifaith Chaplaincy Office in the Forum (Careers Zone). On St Luke’s, Chaplaincy is based in the office at the back of St Luke’s Chapel. Chaplains offer confidential listening, pastoral support and hospitality throughout the year. The Chaplaincy also offers events, faith-based activities, interfaith dialogue, and time to engage with topical issues, spirituality and reflection on searching questions and moral issues. Chaplaincy is a safe place to talk, to be heard and to find the support you need.

Places of worship on campus

  • Muslim Prayers Rooms are available on the lower floor of the Old Library on Streatham campus, and in the Holnicote Building on the St Luke's campus.
  • The Mary Harris Memorial Chapel of the Holy Trinity on the Streatham campus of the University of Exeter was designed and presented to the University by Dr E. Vincent Harris, OBE, in memory of his mother, and was consecrated by the Lord Bishop of Exeter on 26 June 1958. It was declared a Grade II Listed Building at Easter 1988. St Luke's Chapel, St Luke's Campus was opened on 23 September 1863, destroyed by enemy action on 4 May 1942 and rededicated in 1952. It has a contemporary interior having been re-designed in 1998. Staff, students and visitors are welcome to all services in our Chapels. Choral Evensong takes place on Wednesday afternoons in the Mary Harris Chapel at 5pm, Services are held each Sunday at 7.00pm at one of our two Chapels – check the Chaplaincy pages of the website for more details. There is also a daily rhythm of morning prayer in the Chapels.
  • The University Chapels are available for Baptisms, Weddings, Memorial Services and other important occasions to any associated with or who have had links to the University. Enquiries to the Anglican Chaplaincy team are welcome: please contact anglicanchaplaincy@exeter.ac.uk.
  • The Catholic Chaplaincy of St Boniface in Glenthorne Road is home to the Chapel of the Holy Spirit, meeting rooms, kitchen and social areas as well as student accommodation. Fr Michael Wheaton is the Catholic Chaplain.
  • The Chaplaincy Quiet Room in the Old Library is for use by all Faith communities and provides space for prayer and worship as well as for social and informal meetings. You can also find a small library and various periodicals from the different faith communities. Contact the MultiFaith Administrator for access and bookings.