Planning is underway for the development of the Amory hub

New services and facilities for Amory

Plans are developing for a major new space at Amory which will see a range of new facilities for students and staff. This will include the Info at Amory information point where you will be able to get consistent help and advice on discipline specific queries as well as more general matters.

It will also provide improved access to two of our most important services; careers and wellbeing. This will include drop in careers advice and wellbeing workshops.

This is just the start of how we are improving support for students and academics locally. We are also enhancing study facilities linked to the provision of catering, to help create a focal point within the building where a sense of community can be fostered, alongside services which offer more resilient, efficient and consistent education support.

This work will provide the facilities and services locally to give support where it is needed  for local disciplines and for all students who regularly access Amory.

The planning for the development of the Amory hub is still underway and we are working closely with the Project Delivery Team (see below) to ensure we are able to provide the best space possible. We hope to begin work on the look and feel of the hub in the Autumn term this year, with construction work beginning in April 2018.

We will provide regular updates during this project and this website will be kept up to date with the latest information.

How you can get involved

Working with students, professional services, and academic collagues, we have created a design for the new Amory hub - this can be viewed here.

During November we will be working with architects to develop this design in more detail including the furniture, colour scheme and wall decorations. There will be opportunities to share these proposed plans with you to gather your feedback.

Project Delivery Team 

For each of the hubs, a Project Delivery Team (PDT) was set up of academics, students and staff who will use the hub. The Amory PDT have been working on the design of the Amory hub. Members of the PDT are:

Amory Hub Project Delivery Team
Jamie Horsley Head of Student Services J.Horsley@exeter.ac.uk
Karen Ball College Registrar for Social Sciences and International Studies K.Ball@exeter.ac.uk
John Wylie Head of Geography J.W.Wylie@exeter.ac.uk
Sean Carter Director of Education for Geography S.Carter@exeter.ac.uk
David Lewis Director of Education for Politics

D.Lewis@exeter.ac.uk

Richard Edwards Head of Law School R.A.Edwards@exeter.ac.uk
Matthew Rendle Director of Education for History M.Rendle@exeter.ac.uk
Morwenna Ludlow Head of Theology and Religion M.A.Ludlow@exeter.ac.uk
Barbara Powell Education Business Partner for Life and Environmental Sciences B.E.Powell@exeter.ac.uk
Joanna Thomas

Amory Hub Manager and SSIS Student Services Manager

J.H.Thomas@exeter.ac.uk
Helen Terry Student Services Team Leader for Geography H.Terry@exeter.ac.uk
Rachel Hogden Education Business Partner for Humanities R.L.Wheeler@exeter.ac.uk
Jennifer Lea Senior Administrator (Programme Support)  J.L.Lea@exeter.ac.uk
Suzanne Byrch Education Business Partner for Social Sciences and International Studies S.L.Byrch@exeter.ac.uk
Holly Wheaton Amory Hub Manager  H.A.Wheaton@exeter.ac.uk
Gill Preston Project Lead G.L.Preston@exeter.ac.uk
Plus from the Guild:
Jodie Peters  Students' Guild Staff Jodie.Peters@exeter.ac.uk
Toby Gladwin  Guild President T.Gladwin@exeter.ac.uk
Harry Reeve  Vice President Education hr301@exeter.ac.uk
Tristan Gatward  Vice President Activities T.Gatward@exeter.ac.uk
Alec James  Vice President Welfare and Diversity A.James@exeter.ac.uk

You can email the team if you have any questions.