TA logoTeaching Awards 2013

The fourth annual Student's Guild Teaching Awards ceremony took place in the Great Hall on 2nd May 2013. The Awards smashed all previous records receiving 2,415 individual nominations, up by 20 percent on the previous year. More than 500 individual academics were nominated.

The event was attended by 200 invited guests including the Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Steve Smith and the new NUS President Toni Pearce.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Steve Smith said "The Awards seem to get better and better each year, with more nominations of a higher quality. The seriousness with which they are taken by students and staff alike demonstrates the commitment to the exceptional teaching quality that is delivered at Exeter. Many congratulations to everyone involved, especially the winners and runners up."

The winners

Change Agents Champion Sarah Dyer, Geography
Best Postgraduate Teacher Lawrence Choo, Economics
Best Employability Support Paul Barton, Management and Organisation
Best Feedback Provider Imogen Moore, Law
Innovative Teaching Matt Hayler, English
Research Inspired Teaching Solomon Lennox, Drama
Best Supervisor Tamsin Ford, UOEMS
Best Research Community Physics
Most Supportive Member of Staff Isabel Moros, Modern Languages
Best Lecturer

Philippe Young, Engineering

Best Subject