Masters funding for international students

In addition to the schemes listed below for which international Masters students are eligible, you may wish to visit our general Masters funding pages which contain additional schemes for which you may be eligible, our web page which highlights schemes relevant to specific nationalities, and our page on subject-specific scholarships.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme is a joint initiative between the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and UK universities.

Chevening Scholarships

Chevening Scholarships, which are funded by the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations, operate in 118 countries worldwide, and this year will support over 600 established or emerging leaders. Awards are typically for a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject and at any of the UK’s leading universities.

Applications for the scholarships must be submitted online. Applicants should read the online guidance and be able to demonstrate how they meet the Chevening selection criteria before submitting an application. Further details of closing dates and priority subject areas (which vary from country to country) are available on the individual country pages.

Andrew Stratton Scholarship

A one-year award of up to £1,000 for a privately funded International student studying for a taught Masters programme in Engineering or Science who will be registered from October of the coming academic year.

The scholarship will be advertised on the funding database.    Details for 2015/16 will be available in May (subject to sufficient funds being available).

Please contact the International Office for details