Skip to main content

Who we are

Who we are

The Council is chaired by the Pro-Chancellor, Sarah Turvill, and has a full membership of at least 20 and no more than 22, a majority of whom are independent members drawn from the private and public sector who bring a range of experience and professional expertise to the work of the University and Council.

The Vice-Chancellor, Provost and longest standing Deputy Vice-Chancellor are ex-officio members. Three members of Council are elected by Senate, one member is elected by the Professional Services staff and the President of the Students’ Guild and Exeter President, FXU appointed as Student members.

Mike Shore-Nye, Registrar and Secretary, is Secretary to Council.

The membership of Council is set out under Section 9 of the Statutes.

Council Nominations Committee is responsible for making recommendations to Council for the nomination of the Pro-Chancellors under Class I of Council membership, the nomination of the Chair of Council, and nominations for the places under Class II of Council membership.

For further information about applying to become a Council member or to get in touch with existing Council members, please contact the Committee Secretariat Team.