Skip to main content

Decision making at the University

The University is governed primarily via the Council and the Senate, which are supported by various committees within the different services and colleges. Changes in policy and procedure are created through those supporting committees with the final resolution resting with Senate, for academic decision-making, and Council, for strategic decision-making.


The Delegation Framework sets out the location of authority within the University of Exeter for particular types of decision made in the University’s name and on its behalf. The delegation framework supports the governance arrangements for Council, Senate and the Vice-Chancellors Executive Group (VCEG) (and its sub-groups).