Celebrating graduation

University of Exeter announces Honorary Graduands for summer ceremonies

This year, the University will be honouring a combination of its alumni, notable individuals from the local area and others who have made a significant contribution internationally.

Ceremonies commence on Sunday 17 July and will include the award of an honorary degree to Hilary Mantel, the prize winning novelist who now lives in east Devon.

Throughout the week, local public figures receiving honorary degrees include Jim French CBE, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Flybe; Steve Hindley CBE DL, businessman and Deputy Lieutenant of Devon and Angela Pedder OBE and Chief Executive of the Royal Devon & Exeter NHS Foundation Trust. In Cornwall, local artist Neil Canning and Professor Sir Peter Rubin, who was born in Cornwall, will be honoured.

Those being welcomed  back to the University include Dennis Gillings, founder of Quintiles, the largest global provider of clinical trials and commercial marketing services to the pharma and biotechnology industry; Les Halpin, entrepreneur and philanthropist; Professor Andrew Hamilton, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford and Ambiga Sreenevasan, Malaysian lawyer and human rights activist.

In addition, Barbara Frost, Chief Executive of WaterAid and Professor Si-chen Lee, President of National Taiwan University will be honoured during the Geography and Engineering ceremonies, respectively.
The University of Exeter’s Chancellor, Baroness Floella Benjamin OBE DL will, as usual, preside over all the ceremonies. She commented ‘This is a time for celebration for our students and their families, a culmination of years of hard work and an opportunity for us to send them out into the world with a valuable Exeter degree and the full backing of our staff. Our honorary graduands are leaders in their fields and we very much look forward to welcoming them here. They are people the University is extremely proud to be associated with.’
Each ceremony will be streamed live on the Graduation website.
Graduation ceremonies take place from 17 to 22 July in the Northcott Theatre, University of Exeter, at 9.30am, 11.30am, 2.00pm and 4.00pm daily. The ceremonies for students from the University’s Cornwall Campus are being held in the inspirational surroundings of Truro Cathedral on 25 July, at 10.00am, 1.15pm and 3.45pm.

Graduation timetable: Streatham campus

Sunday 17 July
11.30am: Hilary Mantel CBE
Monday 18 July
4.00pm: Barbara Frost
Tuesday 19 July
11.30am: Professor Andrew Hamilton
2.00pm: Dr Dennis Gillings CBE
4.00pm: Professor Si-Chen Lee
Wednesday 20 July
9.30: Les Halpin
11.30: Angela Pedder OBE
Thursday 21 July
11.30am: Ambiga Sreenevasan
Friday 22 July
11.30am: Jim French CBE
2.00pm: Steve Hindley CBE DL
Graduation timetable: Cornwall campus

Monday 25 July
1.15: Professor Sir Peter Rubin
3.45: Neil Canning

Biographies, graduation pictures and press passes available on request. Please contact the Press Office

Date: 7 July 2011

Read more University News