Golf day 2011

The winning ladies team.

Women's team triumphs at Alumni Golf Day

For the second time in three years a women's team won the 2011 Exeter Alumni Golf Day competition held at Worplesdon GC.

This year's event - the sixth overall and the third to be played at Worplesdon- saw record numbers in attendance with 75 players - spanning six decades of alumni - teeing off in the shotgun start.

In ideal golfing conditions the winning team of Jo Goldsworthy, Bridgett Lafferty, Penny Petch and Lindsay Sabin scored 93 stableford points, three points ahead of former golf scholars Sandy Kirton, Dave Corbin and Craig Cook and current University captain and golf scholar, James Wallace.
Just behind in third place were Mike Berners Price, James Winterman, Tom Earl and Kieran Payne (89 points) who tied with event organiser Rod Alexander's team of Mike Wagstaffe, Martin Oakes and Rob Thomas who lost on a count back.
Competition for the men's longest drive was limited to the big-hitting low handicap players with golf professional Ben Westgate (+3) hitting a monster drive of 340 yards to edge out former longest drive winner Dave Corbin (+1). The women's longest drive was won by golf scholar Alice Barnes.
University Golf captain James Wallace was closest to the pin on the uphill 4th, with a drive finishing 14 inches from the hole.
Following the morning golf an excellent carvery lunch was held in the welcoming clubhouse with short speeches made by University Director of Golf, Craig Townsend and event organiser Rod Alexander. Craig highlighted the importance of sport to the University's overall standing - Exeter is among the leading sports universities and is greatly helped by the support of sports scholars through alumni donations and events.
Rod Alexander held the traditional post-lunch auction - prizes included a number of rounds at top golf courses such as Wentworth, The Wisley and The Berkshire, Centre and No. 1 Court tickets at Wimbledon and a box at Ascot. Overall all the auction and the “Cutting Edge” raised around £8,000. The “Cutting Edge” was a package of prizes dedicated to Chris Edge, one of the founders of the Alumni Golf Day, who died suddenly at the end of last year.
We are very grateful to all alumni who gave prizes and who contributed to a very successful day that ended with convivial drinks on the Worpelsdon terrace - and a desire to return on Friday September 7th 2012 to challenge for the  7th Exeter Alumni Golf Day trophy.
Before then the Alumni and Students match for The Northcote Trophy (currently held by the students) will be held at Dawlish Warren GC over the weekend of March 24/25th 2012. The format is along Ryder Cup Lines and we are seeking 8-12 players. Please contact Rod Alexander ( if you are interested.
Attendees by decade (year of leaving)
1960s : John Williams, Roger Peek, Roger Bentote, Penny Petch
1970s : Martin Oakes, Mike Wagstaffe, Rod Alexander, Mark Taylor, Steve Perkins, Mark Stanisweski , Rod Alexander, Dave Hudson, Dave Cripps, Evelyn Summerville , Anthony Sykes, Mike Seabrook, Mike Berners Price, Al Gordon, Keith Davenport, Brian Stopp,Hugh Bethell, John Kerr , Nicholas Bull, Sue Flavin , Jo Goldsworthy, Bridgett Lafferty, Shane Lyon, Bobby Leach, Allison Brindle , Mary Ann Turnbull, Chris Brown, Al Louis, Kim Nyguem, Ian Martin, Dave Ventham, Rob Thomas, Gavin Graham, Sam Twiston Davies, Chris Wesenlund, Andrew Little, Neil Twogood, Pauline Twogood, Dennis Kerslake, Nigel  Bennett, John Gilbert, Liz Wilkinson, John Whiteley, John Rayer
1980s - Danny Smith, Midge Clayton, Tony Tomblin, Mark Kinsella, James Henry, Kerrin Tansley, Kate Bolsover, Phillip Buckingham, Doug Fenwick, Robi Signorelli, Mark Sawyers, Duncan Goldsworthy, Dave Millard
1990s - Tom Earl, James Winterman
2000s - Gareth Gie, David Woodruffe, Lindsay Sabin, Chris Ellison, David Johnstone, Craig Townsend, Ben Westgate
2010s - Kieran Payne, Sandy Kirton, Dave Corbin, Craig Cook, Allison Barnes (current golf scholar), James Wallace (current golf scholar), Chris Fleming (new golf scholar)
Also in attendance - Phil Attwell, University Director of Sport and Angela Evans and Charlie McCallum from the Development and Alumni Relations Office.

Date: 13 September 2011

Read more University News