2019 winners Natasha Bellinger (top) and Archit Garg (below)

2019 Volunteers of the Year named!

After a tough decision making process, the Alumni Volunteers of the Year for 2019 have been announced.

Staff, students and fellow alumni all came forward to nominate alumni volunteers involved in an array of projects both in the UK and internationally. The judging panel, made up of representatives of all the above groups, are delighted to announce this year’s winners:

Debbie Hill Award for the Exceptional Support of Students

The 2019 winner is Natasha Bellinger (LLB Law, 2011) for her long standing and committed support for law students at Exeter. Natasha began volunteering her time as soon as she graduated. Her encouragement of future law students through Exeter’s Pathways to Law programme, and support of current law students through a range of employability activities, impressed the judges.

Natasha said: “I feel honoured to have been chosen and was completely taken aback at being shortlisted. It is an absolute delight volunteering with the University because of the fantastic and enthusiastic people I get to work with on a regular basis and it is great seeing the University go from strength to strength.”

Nicholas Bull Award for the Exceptional Support of the Alumni Community.

2019’s winner is Archit Garg (MSc International Management, 2014) thanks to his enthusiastic and committed support of both the MSc International Management cohort across the world and the wider alumni community in India. Nominated for the second year running, the judges were impressed by the number of fellow alumni who got in touch to nominate Archit and their supporting testimonials.

Archit said:Associating with the University has been a wonderful learning experience for me. I enjoy liaising with local alumni, helping to arrange business and social events and answering the queries/questions of prospective students. I try to engage with each alum on a personal basis whether they are based in India or abroad. I would like to thank all the alumni for nominating me and supporting my efforts for the University of Exeter.”

Congratulations also go to the other shortlisted nominees. In the category of exceptional student support:

  • Alex Campbell (Law, 1997) for his long-standing and exceptional support of the Career Mentor Scheme;
  • Chris Filsell (English 2016) for his enthusiastic and valuable support of the student media society, XTV;
  • Kathleen Lund (PhD Politics 2005) for her outstanding support to our mock interview programme and going above and beyond as a Career Mentor;
  • Doug Wass (Law, 1996) for going above and beyond in his support of our mock interview programme for law students.

And for exceptional alumni support:

  • Tim Ireland (Chemical Engineering, 1984) for his committed support of our hockey and golf alumni communities;
  • Chris Tang (Law, 1996) for his passionate and driven approach to supporting our alumni network in Hong Kong;
  • Sandra Brunnen (Philosophy 1976) for her long-standing dedication to the alumni of the ‘Out of Doors Society’;
  • John Gilbert (Economics 1972) for his commitment to, and professional organisation of, activities to support sport in our alumni community.

Steve Edge (Law, 1972), Chair of the Alumni Network Group, said: “Alumni volunteers play a crucial role at the University of Exeter. The time that they give to support students with employability and personal development can be transformational. It builds students’ confidence, lets them explore different career paths, and develops the skills they need to achieve their goals post-graduation. In addition, the time spent organising alumni events around the world and supporting fellow graduates, ensures that everyone can remain connected to Exeter and access support and guidance when required.

“The individuals shortlisted in this year’s awards have all gone above and beyond in their support of our University and alumni community and they should all be very proud.”

The awards are named in honour of two long-standing alumni volunteers, formally recognising the commitment and support that they have given the University over many years. For more information visit the website.

Date: 6 June 2019

Read more University News