Alumni Volunteer Awards 2019

Alumni Volunteer Awards celebrate individual impact

In celebration of all of our amazing volunteers, and to say thank you to those exceptional individuals who do so much to support us all, we opened our ‘University of Exeter Alumni Volunteer Awards’ to nominations for the second year this spring.

Staff, students and fellow alumni all came forward to nominate alumni volunteers involved in an array of projects both in the UK and internationally. It was tough for the judging panel (made up of student, staff and alumni representatives) to narrow down a very deserving selection. However, we are delighted to announce our shortlisted candidates:


Debbie Hill Award for the Exceptional Support of Students

This award celebrates individuals who go above and beyond in their support of students, inspiring them with their passion and commitment.


Natasha Bellinger (LLB Law, 2011) for her passionate encouragement of future law students through our Pathways to Law programme and tireless support of our current law students through a range of employability activities.

Alex Campbell (Law, 1997) for his long-standing and exceptional support of the Career Mentor Scheme.

Chris Filsell (English 2016) for his enthusiastic and valuable support of the student media society, XTV.

Kathleen Lund (PhD Politics 2005) for her outstanding support to our mock interview programme and going above and beyond as a Career Mentor.

Doug Wass (Law, 1996) for going above and beyond in his support of our mock interview programme for law students.


Nicholas Bull Award for the Exceptional Support of the Alumni Community.

This award celebrates individuals who go above and beyond in their support of their fellow alumni, making a significant contribution to our flourishing community, either regionally or internationally.


Tim Ireland (Chemical Engineering, 1984) for his committed support of our hockey and golf alumni communities.

Chris Tang (Law, 1996) for his passionate and driven approach to supporting our alumni network in Hong Kong.

Archit Garg (MSc. International Management, 2014) for his enthusiastic and committed support of the alumni community in India.

Sandra Brunnen (Philosophy 1976) for her long-standing dedication to the alumni of the ‘Out of Doors Society’.

John Gilbert (Economics 1972) for hiscommitment to, and professional organisation of, activities to support sport in our alumni community.


The awards are named in honour of two long-standing alumni volunteers, formally recognising the commitment and support that they have given us over many years.

Debbie Hill has given invaluable help and guidance to the development of the alumni volunteering programme over many years, ensuring volunteers are engaged in meaningful, satisfying activities and are recognised for their incredible work.

Nicholas Bull has been giving his time and expertise to Exeter for almost two decades. Over the years he has taken on a wide variety of roles and activities to support our staff, students and his fellow alumni and has worked tirelessly to ensure that the alumni voice is represented across the University.


Date: 15 May 2019

Read more University News