Skip to main content

Faculty of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

Humanities and Social Sciences, Penryn (Cornwall)

Societies, Culture and Justice in the Past, Present and Future

About us

Humanities and Social Sciences, Penryn (Cornwall) is an exciting new interdisciplinary endeavour that fruitfully interweaves insights from the disciplines of History, Law, Politics, Modern Languages and Literature. Our work examines societies, cultures and justice in the past, present and future. We work broadly across humanities and social sciences, and with other disciplines, to help make the world a better place for all.

Our research and teaching interests are diverse and overlapping. We offer a unique educational and research environment for our students and staff. We cover the core curricula of our respective disciplines, but also work creatively across our disciplines in the following areas:

  • Inclusive pedagogies: we provide and write about curricula and educational activities welcoming and inclusive to all.
  • Environmental justice: we think through environmental solutions that put justice for people, organisms and eco-systems at their centre.
  • Democracy and conflict resolution: we evaluate ways to allow the broadest array of citizen voices to be heard and to help them reach peaceful and effective compromises.
  • The making and remaking of knowledge: we understand that people come to know things in a variety of valid ways. We use this understanding to inform our approaches to both disciplinary and cross-disciplinary work.
  • Identity, narrative and memory: we appreciate and illustrate the ways in which narratives of the past and present shape our identities and societies.
  • Understanding and redressing violence and coloniality: we are sensitive to the inequities of imperialism and think through solutions to these and other forms of violence.

Our undergraduate programmes

Our Leadership Team

Our academic staff

Dr James Kelly Senior Lecturer J.Kelly@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Natalie Pollard Senior Lecturer natalie.pollard@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Rob Magnuson Smith  Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing R.Magnuson.Smith@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Timothy Cooper Senior Lecturer T.Cooper@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Jeremy DeWaal Lecturer in History J.DeWaal@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Jamie Hampson  Senior Lecturer in Heritage J.G.Hampson@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Alyson Mercer  Associate Lecturer in History A.L.Mercer@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Professor Richard Noakes  Associate Professor of the History of Science and Technology r.j.noakes@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Professor Bryony Onciul  Associate Professor of Museology and Heritage Studies B.A.Onciul@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Professor Catriona Pennell  Professor of Modern History and Memory Studies C.L.Pennell@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Garry Tregidga  Senior Lecturer G.H.Tregidga@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Martha Vandrei  Senior Lecturer M.Vandrei@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Professor Nicola Whyte  Associate Professor N.M.Whyte@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Chris Kempshall      
Professor Kristofer Allerfeldt Associate Professor K.M.Allerfeldt@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Misan Afinotan Lecturer in Law U.Afinotan@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Tiago de Melo Cartaxo Senior Lecturer in Environmental Law t.m.cartaxo@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Alice Farthing  Associate Lecturer A.Farthing@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Camilla Gee  Lecturer in Law C.Gee@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Rema Ince  Lecturer in Law R.Ince@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Caroline Keenan  Associate Professor C.Keenan@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Janet Keliher  Lecturer J.Keliher@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Mark Mackarel  Senior Lecturer M.Mackarel2@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Elif Ceylan Ozsoy  Lecturer e.c.ozsoy2@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Mr Nick Pointon  Senior Lecturer N.Pointon@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Swastee Ranjan  Lecturer S.Ranjan@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr William White  Senior Lecturer W.White@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Ms Caroline Blay Associate Lecturer in French C.Blay@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Ms Maria Castillo-Ahuir Associate Lecturer in Spanish M.M.Castillo-Ahuir@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Shuo Huang  Associate Lecturer in Mandarin Chinese S.Huang5@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Jordina Sala-Branchadell  Lecturer in Spanish J.Sala-Branchadell@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Samer Bakkour Lecturer in ME Studies and Politics S.Bakkour@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Anjia Barbieri   A.Barbieri@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr David Benson  Associate Professor D.I.Benson@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Aneta Brockhill  Lecturer in Politics and International Relations A.A.Brockhill@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Sarah Bulmer  Senior Lecturer S.E.Bulmer@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Brendan Carey    b.carey@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Xianan Jin  Lecturer in Politics X.Jin@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Deborah McFarlane  Lecturer in Politics and International Relations D.McFarlane3@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Shubranshu Mishra  Lecturer S.Mishra2@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr James Muldoon  Senior Lecturer J.Muldoon@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Cristiana Olcese    c.olcese2@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Catherine Owen  Senior Lecturer in International Relations C.A.M.Owen@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Professor Clare Saunders  Professor in Politics C.Saunders@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Andrew Schaap  Associate Professor A.W.Schaap@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Karen Scott  Senior Lecturer K.E.Scott@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Professor Dan Stevens  Professor D.P.Stevens@exeter.ac.uk View profile»
Dr Joanie Willett  Senior Lecturer J.M.A.Willett@exeter.ac.uk View profile»