Skip to main content
Contact us:
01392 723456
IIB organogram

‌ - February 2021

Teams, themes and structure

Teams, themes and structure

Teams, themes and structure

IIB Teams

Innovation, Impact and Business staff are divided into three teams:

This team supports the promotion and funding of impact, engagement and project development. The team works in interdisciplinary, thematic groups, addressing College priorities for project development and/or income generation.

Contact: 

Brigid Howarth Assistant Director, Sectors  b.b.howarth@exeter.ac.uk

This team supports the organisation and delivery of projects relating to Intellectual Property (IP) exploitation, consultancy, commercial tenders, Contract research and Knowledge Exchange programmes such as Knowledge Transfer Partnerships (KTPs). They also keep track of investments in projects, proof of concept, commercial projects, licences and shareholdings.

Contact: 

Neil Hayes Assistant Director (Enterprise and Innovation) n.w.hayes@exeter.ac.uk

The Regional Engagement Team brings together the key teams within IIB delivering and supporting regional economic development. This includes bidding for funds from regional sources, managing innovation support services and providing an access point for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) in Exeter and Cornwall.

Contact:

Name Team Email
Lorna Barnes (Interim Head) Degree Apprenticeships L.J.Barnes@exeter.ac.uk
Andy Dean Marchmont A.Dean@exeter.ac.uk
Dan Bloomfield Tevi D.Bloomfield@exeter.ac.uk
Belinda Broughton Smartline B.Broughton@exeter.ac.uk
Conrad Gillespie Satellite Applications Catapult C.Gillespie@exeter.ac.uk
Robert Kathro Impact Lab R.O.Kathro@exeter.ac.uk
Ben Voysey SETsquared b.j.voysey@exeter.ac.uk
Emily Davies Student Startups  E.C.E.Davies@exeter.ac.uk

 

 

IIB Themes

Innovation, Impact and Business support our internal academic community and external businesses, government bodies, and other external organisations under four sector-facing teams:

  • Data, Engineering and Physical Sciences
  • Environment and Clean Growth
  • Health, Life Sciences and Security
  • Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

These teams work to:

  • Accelerate partner engagement by brokering relationships and facilitating discussions
  • Build a community of industrial and government connections
  • Support the development of new knowledge, technologies and solutions for businesses
  • Connect academics and businesses more effectively 
  • Identify multidisciplinary opportunities and stimulating research questions
Isabel Gonzalez  Data, Engineering and Physical Sciences  i.gonzalez@exeter.ac.uk 
Roxana Andrusca Health, Life Sciences and Security r.andrusca@exeter.ac.uk
Jess Hurrell Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences jess.hurrell@exeter.ac.uk
Alex Huke Environment and Clean Growth  a.r.huke@exeter.ac.uk

Office locations

StreathamPenryn

Innovation Centre
University of Exeter
Streatham Campus
Rennes Drive
Exeter
EX4 4RN

Phone: +44 (0) 1392 723456

Tremough Innovation Centre
University of Exeter
Penryn Campus
Cornwall
TR10 9TA

Phone: +44 (0) 1326 259238

Email: business@exeter.ac.uk

Maps and directions