Skip to main content

Inclusion Groups

Inclusion Groups

University Inclusion Group

The University Inclusion Group meets once a term and is chaired by Linda Peka, Deputy Registrar and Chief College Operations Officer, and reports directly to Council through the Dual Assurance framework for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion. The University Inclusion Group's remit covers all nine protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010.

The membership includes representatives from Colleges and Professional Services and other key individuals such as representatives from the Chaplaincy, the Students' Union in Cornwall and the Students' Guild in Exeter. The Group is also supported and informed by the University's 5 Equality Groups: Disability, Faith and Worldview, Gender, Race and Sexual Orientation.

EDI Exec Lead and Chair  Linda Peka
College Inclusion Rep – SSIS  TBC
College Inclusion Rep – HUMS Dr Laura Sangha
College Inclusion Rep – CEMPS Professor Krasi Tsaneva-Atanasova 
College Inclusion Rep – CMH  TBC
College Inclusion Rep – CLES Professor Sharon Dixon
College Inclusion Rep – UEBS Oli Young
Chaplaincy Rep (Exeter) Ramona Nash 
Chaplaincy Rep (Penryn) Becky Nesbitt
SU Rep (Penryn) Charlotte Agnew
Students’ Guild Rep

Marion Ojua

Student Representative  TBC
Director of Education and Student Support James Hutchinson
EDI Advisors Rae Preston, Deborah Lee, Lena Worwood and Rachel Griffiths
Provost Commission Representative  Lizzie Caughey / Jen Fook 
EDI Manager Dorcas Cowan
EDI Project Support  Tom Caro
REG Representative Niema Bohrayba
DEG Chair Professor Neil Gow
SOEG Chair Michael Wykes
GEG Chair Jane Chafer
Communications  Garth Davies 
Cornwall Campuses Inclusivity Group Chair Professor David Hosken

College, Professional Services & Campus Inclusion Groups

On behalf of the relevant College or Professional Services directorate, inclusion groups are chaired by the Pro Vice-Chancellor, Director, Director of College Operations or relevant deputy, who is responsible for providing leadership and strategic direction in relation to all equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) matters affecting staff and students.

The purpose of an inclusion group is to agree priorities, make decisions, commission work and guide the prioritisation of existing budgets to enable success in relation to EDI. Each group nominates an inclusion representative. Being an Inclusion Representative means:

  • Representing your College, PS directorate or campus at termly meetings of the University Inclusion Group
  • Acting as a key channel of communication between your area and the University Inclusion Group, raising relevant issues and disseminating key information back to your area as appropriate
  • Acting as a first point of contact for any staff or students who need signposting to sources of support, such as the Dignity & Respect Advisor Network, HR Business Partners or the Students' Guild or Students' Union advice teams
College of Engineering, Mathematics and Physical Sciences

Professor Krasi Tsaneva-Atanasova

College of Humanities

Dr Laura Sangha
College of Life and Environmental Sciences Professor Sharon Dixon 

College of Social Sciences and International Studies


University of Exeter Business School

Oli Young
College of Medicine and Health TBC  
Cornwall Campuses Inclusion Group Professor David Hosken

Professional Services

James Hutchinson