Technical Services Conference 2016

Date: 6 July 2016

Venue: Penryn Campus, University of Exeter

The University of Exeter hosted a Technical Services Conference on 6th July 2016 at the Penryn Campus. Sessions and Workshops at the Conference were tailored specifically for Technical Service Staff in STEMM colleges.

This year’s theme was:
Getting to Know Your Service: 1 year on from the transformation.
(How can we collaborate across the service and learn from each other).

Winner of the Technical Services logo competition

TSC Logo 2016We are delighted to announce that the winner of the technical service logo competition is Dr Abdelmalek Benattayallah from the Exeter MR Research Centre at St Luke’s campus.
Congratulations from the TS conference committee!

We look forward to meeting Malek when we present his award at the conference.

The TS Conference committee would like to thank all those who took part in the competition and for such a high standard of entries




TS Conference 2016 Photo Reel - Photos from the day


Technical Services Poster Session

We are very excited to announce that the Technical Services conference poster session will have two categories:

  • Category 1: Who are we and what do we do? An opportunity for each unit of activity to tell everyone who is in their team and the great work they do.
  • Category 2: Research or Teaching posters. An opportunity to tell everyone what great research or teaching projects you as individuals have been involved in.



Programme of Events and Presentations

Below is a provisional program. However if you have any ideas, contacts or comments the Conference Committee would love to hear from you.

We look forward to seeing you at this year’s Technical Services conference in Penryn.



10:00 – 10:30


10:30 – 10:55

Opening Address; Gail Reeves


Technical Tasters

Personal Development 1

Personnel development 2

Career Progression

Health & Safety

11:00 – 11:25

Karen Moore-Exeter Sequencing Service: Minlon Technology


Karen Markes-Developing Sustainable behaviours for health & Wellbeing

Kathryn Miller-Doing more with Less


Terry Croft/Jon Cresswell – HEFCE Catalyst Project

Technical development & Modernisation-

Mike Wetherell-Chemical Incompatibilities in storage and mixing


11:30 – 11:55


Robert McIlwraith- The benefits of mentoring


Clive Betts – Personal Development Programme


Katherine Forsey - HEaTED; Future trends in the technical job market – helping you prepare


Rhian Loosmore-Safety Health and Wellbeing Management


12:00 – 12.25

Andrew Cowley-Raspberry Pie for data collection


Amy Reed - Science Council the benefits of registration and options available


Tour of Campus

David Parish-Owen Greenwood-Earn a PhD while working


Mike Wetherell-Chemical Spillage responses


12:30 – 13:55

Lunch and Poster Session

14:00 – 14:25

Gavyn Rollinson

Geochemical & Mineralogical analysis:  what, how and why?


Terry Croft and James Trout –

IST in the Industry, how professional development works in the EA


Karen Markes-Developing Sustainable behaviours for health & Wellbeing


John Malloch-Introduction to Procurement


Mike Wetherell-Chemical Incompatibilities in storage and mixing


14:30 – 14:55

David Milner-OmniLog phenotype microarray system


Natalie Kennerley-

How to get networked


Karen Clowes-Gallagher-Environmental improvement in Technical Services


David Miller-How to sell yourself in two minutes


Rhian Loosmore-Safety Health and Wellbeing Management


15:00 – 15:25

Chris Wood-Top Tips Pipette Maintenance


Sarah Hodge-Athena SWAN for technical services


Alistair Cropp-Imaging and correlating across scales and dimensions: an overview of existing, emerging and evolving technologies

Andrew Johnson-How do I go above and beyond


Mike Wetherell-Chemical Spillage responses


15:30 – 15:55

Karen Clowes-Gallagher-Environmental improvement in Technical Services

Ray Spicer – Staff Portal

Tour of Campus (Sessions ran at 1500-1525 and 1530-1555)


Dr Jacquline Whatmore-Human tissue act

16:00 – 16:25

Networking and Refreshments

The Conference Committee


  • Michelle Hares


  • Liz James
  • Yogesh Chaudhari
  • Sam Mitchell
  • Toby Doyle
  • Owen Greenwood
  • Daniela Farina
  • Florian Bayer
  • Amy Campbell
  • Corrina Lowry