Skip to main content

FCH staff and subject coordinators

As an FCH student you will be guided by the FCH staff, subject coordinators in each of your subject areas and your personal tutor. All are there to help you choose the most appropriate academic pathways and to get the most out of your degree and your time at the University of Exeter.

Professor Marion Gibson Director - term 1 Marion.H.Gibson@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Felicity Henderson Director - terms 2 & 3 F.C.Henderson@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Damien Gaucher Deputy Director (Streatham/St Lukes) D.Gaucher@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Whyte Deputy Director (Penryn) - term 1 N.M.Whyte@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy DeWaal Deputy Director (Penryn) - terms 2 & 3 J.DeWaal@exeter.ac.uk
Peter Chalk Info Point Administrator (Streatham/St Lukes) fch@exeter.ac.uk
Penryn Info Point Administrator (Penryn)

fch-penryn@exeter.ac.uk

Accounting Dr Chen Lim C.V.Lim@exeter.ac.uk Streatham Court 1.04

Ancient History

Dr Sharon Marshall Sharon.Marshall@exeter.ac.uk

Amory 373

Anthropology 

Dr Nigel Pleasants N.J.Pleasants@exeter.ac.uk Amory 348

Arabic

Dr István Kristó-Nagy I.T.Kristo-Nagy@exeter.ac.uk Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies

Archaeology

Dr Ioana Oltean I.A.Oltean@exeter.ac.uk Laver 305

Art History & Visual Culture

Prof David Houston Jones D.H.Jones@exeter.ac.uk  
Biochemistry Dr Alexandra Brand A.Brand@exeter.ac.uk Geoffrey Pope 319

Biological Sciences

Dr Alexandra Brand A.Brand@exeter.ac.uk Geoffrey Pope 319
British Sign Language  Prof Sonia Cunico S.Cunico@exeter.ac.uk Queen's Building, FLC Resource Room
Chemistry Dr Alexandra Brand A.Brand@exeter.ac.uk Geoffrey Pope 319

Chinese (Mandarin)

Term 1: Isabel Moros

Term 2: Prof Maria Scott

I.Moros@exeter.ac.uk

M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk

Queen's 115

Queen's 114 

Classical Studies 

Dr Sharon Marshall Sharon.Marshall@exeter.ac.uk Amory 373

Classics 

Dr Sharon Marshall Sharon.Marshall@exeter.ac.uk Amory 373

Computer Science 

Dr David Wakeling D.Wakeling@exeter.ac.uk Innovation Centre Phase 1 0 

Criminology 

Dr Nigel Pleasants N.J.Pleasants@exeter.ac.uk Amory 348

Drama 

Dr Adrian Curtin A.Curtin@exeter.ac.uk Alexander 1st Floor 
Economics Dr Giancarlo Ianulardo G.Ianulardo@exeter.ac.uk Streatham Court 0.75 
English Dr Abram Foley A.Foley@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 249 
Exercise and Sports Science Dr Sarah Jackman S.Jackman@exeter.ac.uk St. Luke's, Richard's 109 

Film Studies 

Dr Abram Foley A.Foley@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 249 

French

Term 1: Isabel Moros

Term 2: Prof Maria Scott

I.Moros@exeter.ac.uk

M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk

Queen's 115

Queen's 114  

Geography 

Dr Kuba Jablonowski J.Jablonowski@exeter.ac.uk Amory C422
German

Term 1: Isabel Moros

Term 2: Prof Maria Scott

I.Moros@exeter.ac.uk

M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk

Queen's 115

Queen's 114  

Greek (Ancient) 

Dr Sharon Marshall Sharon.Marshall@exeter.ac.uk Amory 373 
History

Dr Matthew Rendle

M.Rendle@exeter.ac.uk  
International Relations Dr Irene Fernandez-Molina I.F.Molina@exeter.ac.uk Amory A338
Italian 

Term 1: Isabel Moros

Term 2: Prof Maria Scott

I.Moros@exeter.ac.uk

M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk

Queen's 115

Queen's 114  

Japanese  Prof Sonia Cunico S.Cunico@exeter.ac.uk Queen's 223

Latin 

Dr Sharon Marshall Sharon.Marshall@exeter.ac.uk Amory 373
Management Prof Michael Rowlinson M.C.Rowlinson@exeter.ac.uk Streatham Court 1.67 
Mathematics Prof Tim Jupp T.E.Jupp@exeter.ac.uk Laver 916
Medical Sciences Dr Vrinda Nayak V.Nayak@exeter.ac.uk Medical School Building EMS G01/SCL1.46

Mediterranean Studies

Dr Sharon Marshall Sharon.Marshall@exeter.ac.uk Amory 373 
Middle Eastern Studies Dr István Kristó-Nagy I.T.Kristo-Nagy@exeter.ac.uk Institute of Arab & Islamic Studies

Philosophy 

Dr Nigel Pleasants N.J.Pleasants@exeter.ac.uk  Amory 348 
Politics  Dr Irene Fernandez-Molina I.F.Molina@exeter.ac.uk Amory A338

Portuguese 

Term 1: Isabel Moros

Term 2: Prof Maria Scott

I.Moros@exeter.ac.uk

M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk

Queen's 115

Queen's 114 

Psychology

Dr Aureliu Lavric

A.Lavric@exeter.ac.uk Washington Singer 233 
Religion

Prof Louise Lawrence

L.J.Lawrence@exeter.ac.uk  
Russian

Term 1: Isabel Moros

Term 2: Prof Maria Scott

I.Moros@exeter.ac.uk

M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk 

Queen's 115

Queen's 114  

Sociology Dr Nigel Pleasants N.J.Pleasants@exeter.ac.uk  Amory 348 

Spanish 

Term 1: Isabel Moros

Term 2: Prof Maria Scott

I.Moros@exeter.ac.uk

M.Scott@exeter.ac.uk 

Queen's 115

Queen's 114  

Strategy and International Security  Dr Sergio Catignani S.Catignani@exeter.ac.uk TBC
Sustainability

Dr Kuba Jablonowski

J.Jablonowski@exeter.ac.uk

Amory C422

Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) Nicky Davies (Programme Manager) N.J.Davies@exeter.ac.uk INTO
  Enquiries to: Jeanette Lewin (Coordinator) J.Lewin@exeter.ac.uk INTO

Theology

Prof Louise Lawrence
L.J.Lawrence@exeter.ac.uk  
Work Placement

Prof Marion Gibson

Marion.H.Gibson@exeter.ac.uk

Queen's Building and Peter Lanyon Building

Study Abroad

Prof Mation Gibson

Marion.H.Gibson@exeter.ac.uk Queen's Building and Peter Lanyon Building
Business Dr David Monciardini D.Monciardini@exeter.ac.uk Stella Turk Building G2:04
English

Dr Nicola Whyte

N.M.Whyte@exeter.ac.uk  Peter Lanyon Building 150
Environment and Human Health 

Dr Michiel Vos

M.Vos@exeter.ac.uk Medical School
Environmental Law Kate Holtaway K.Holtaway@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A148
Environmental Science Prof Catherine Leyshon c.brace@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A082
French Jordina Sala-Branchadell J.Sala-Branchadell@exeter.ac.uk  
Geography Prof Catherine Leyshon c.brace@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A088
Geography and Environment and Human Health  Prof Catherine Leyshon c.brace@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A090
History

Dr Nicola Whyte

N.M.Whyte@exeter.ac.uk  Peter Lanyon Building 150 
International Relations Dr David Benson D.I.Benson@exeter.ac.uk Environment and Sustainability Institute 0.17 
Law Kate Holtaway K.Holtaway@exeter.ac.uk Peter Lanyon Building A148 
Mathematics Prof Stuart Townley S.B.Townley@exeter.ac.uk Environment & Sustainability Institute 1.39 
Politics Dr David Benson D.I.Benson@exeter.ac.uk Environment and Sustainability Institute 0.17  
Spanish Jordina Sala-Branchadell J.Sala-Branchadell@exeter.ac.uk  

Every FCH student has at least one personal tutor - you may have a tutor in one or both of your main subjects, it depends on the subjects you take.

Personal Tutors (some departments call them Academic Tutors) are there to support your academic development and progress, and as the first port of call for pastoral guidance.

Personal tutors are usually FCH subject co-ordinators, so they can help with both academic aspects of your studies and personal issues. 

They help with your development and getting the most out of your time at university. This is often referred to as personal development planning (PDP) - and the University offers many resources for this.

We try to make sure you have the same tutor throughout your time at the university, so that a good relationship can be built up and tutors can write a meaningful reference for you when you are applying for things after university.

Click here for further information on Personal Tutors.

There are also a very large range of Student Support services on campus should you ever feel you need extra support in your social life or studies.