Skip to main content

China Scholarship Council (CSC) in LSI

China Scholarship Council (CSC) in LSI

Project ideas for CSC PhD Scholarships 2021/22 in LSI

The Living Systems Institute (LSI) offers research projects for full-time PhD scholarships in collaboration with the China Scholarship Council (CSC). These studentship opportunities are for the September 2021 intake. 

If you are interested in one of the projects, please contact the listed supervisor well in advance of the deadline. Deadline: midnight on 11 January 2021

Examples of potential CSC PhD research projects are listed below. 

Regulatory network rewiring during pluripotency progression (Austin Smith) contact email Austin.Smith@exeter.ac.uk

Investigating the the structure and assembly of microbial cell walls using cryo electron microscopy and single-molecule sensing techniques (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk

Simulating microbial motility from the cellular to the atomic level (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk

Investigating infection mechanisms of intracellular parasites using cryo electron microscopy and life-cell imaging (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk

Understanding antimicrobial resistance via single-cell microfluidics and cryo-EM (Stefano Pagliara) contact email S.Pagliara@exeter.ac.uk

Locally delivered Wnt signal orchestrate cell fate acquisition in stem cells (Steffen Scholpp) contact email S.Scholpp@exeter.ac.uk

New super-resolution imaging techniques to study protein-protein interactions underlying RNA transcriptional control (Christian Soeller & Steve West) contact email C.Soeller@exeter.ac.uk

Regulation of mitosis: spindle assembly and microtubule dynamics in Drosophila embryos (James Wakefield) contact email J.G.Wakefield@exeter.ac.uk

 

To apply to any of the above projects please click here for Life and Environmental Sciences related Scholarships

Single-Molecule Nanolaser and Sensor (Frank Vollmer) contact email F.Vollmer@exeter.ac.uk 

 

To apply the above project please click here for Engineering, Mathematics & Physical Sciences related Scholarships

Modelling viruses in crowded biological environments (Wolfram Moebius, Daniel Kattnig, Krasimira Tsaneva) contact email W.Moebius@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematical modelling of peroxisome dynamics (David Richards) contact email David.Richards@exeter.ac.uk

Gene network model of lysis/lysogeny molecular decision in Bacillus phage phi3T (Krasimira Tsaneva) contact email K.Tsaneva-Atanasova@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematical modelling of molecular uptake in gram negative bacteria and implications for antimicrobial resistance (Krasimira Tsaneva) contact email K.Tsaneva-Atanasova@exeter.ac.uk

Modelling the dynamics of gene expression from scRNA-seq data (Krasimira Tsaneva) contact email K.Tsaneva-Atanasova@exeter.ac.uk

Decoding the behaviour of freely-moving microorganisms using micro-fabrication, biophysical modelling, and artificial intelligence (Kirsty Wan) contact email K.Y.Wan2@exeter.ac.uk

Opto-hydrodynamical control of single-cell movement in three-dimensions (Kirsty Wan) contact email K.Y.Wan2@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematical modelling of cytoneme-mediated cell fate acquisition (Kyle Wedgwood) contact email K.C.A.Wedgwood@exeter.ac.uk

NetClamp: conducting neural network rhythms with mathematics (Kyle Wedgwood) contact email K.C.A.Wedgwood@exeter.ac.uk

 

To apply to any of the above projects please click here for Engineering, Mathematics & Physical Sciences related Scholarships

Modelling human embryo development using naive pluripotent stem cells (Ge Guo) contact email G.Guo@exeter.ac.uk

 

To apply the above project please click here for Medicine and Health related Scholarships

How to apply

Please contact the listed supervisor for the project you are interested in well in advance of the deadline. The application deadline is midnight on 11 January 2021.

Please click here for full application details