CSC Scholarships 2021/22 Entry

Life and Environmental Sciences

Our College of Life and Environmental Sciences addresses key challenges affecting human and animal health and wellbeing, and environmental changes. This requires technological innovations, sophisticated understandings of individual behaviour, individual and collective adaptations, and how these are set within broader, and often complex, systems (e.g., groups, societies, regulatory frameworks), as well as sensitivity to the possibilities (and problematics) of new forms of data and data-analytics.

Life and Environmental Sciences brings together expertise in Bioscience, Psychology, Geography and Sport and Health Science. Our PhD and research degrees allow for supervision across a broad range of specialist fields within and across our core disciplines. Interdisciplinary research with subjects offered elsewhere within the University may also be feasible.

Some projects are associated with our world leading research institutes such as the Living Systems Institute (LSI), Global Systems Institute (GSI) and the Environmental and Sustainability Institute (ESI).

Application deadline 5 January 2022.

 

Research Projects

  • How do humans value the wellbeing of farm animals and how does this influence consumers' acceptance of agricultural practices? (Nadira Faber) contact email N.Faber@exeter.ac.uk
  • Optimisation of global shrimp aquaculture through digital innovation of the production environment (Robert Ellis) contact email R.P.Ellis@exeter.ac.uk
  • Regulation of immunometabolism in Arabidopsis and Rice  (Dr. Mike Deeks) contact email  M.Deeks@exeter.ac.uk
  • Tapping into the neuroendocrine system to develop robust oyster larvae for sustainable shellfish aquaculture. (Robert Ellis) contact email R.P.Ellis@exeter.ac.uk
  • Metabolic reprogramming in key cereal crops (Dr. Mike Deeks) contact email m.deeks@exeter.ac.uk

  • Multi-omic approaches to understand the evolution of insecticide resistance in Chinese crop pests: Towards effective Insecticide Resistance Management (IRM)  Professor (Chris Bass) contact email  c.bass@exeter.ac.uk

  • Double exposure of agricultural economies in China to climate change impacts and human outmigration  (Dr. Ricardo Safra de Campos) contact email  r.safra-de-campos@exeter.ac.uk
  • Agriculture  RNAi insecticides- what is the potential for resistance and impact of resistance on fitness in a model system.  (Prof Ben Raymond) contact email B.Raymond@exeter.ac.uk

     

     

  • Factors underlying pathogen host shifts in an insect virus model  (Dr Ben Longdon) contact email  b.longdon2@exeter.ac.uk

  • Genome evolution and epidemiology of hospital-acquired Candida albicans infections  (Rhys Farrer) contact email  r.farrer@exeter.ac.uk

  • Intermittent exercise: the biological and mathematical basis to accurate prescription of high-intensity interval training. (Andrew Jones) contact email  a.m.jones@exeter.ac.uk

  • Quantitative Analysis of Signalling in the Tumour Micro Environment  (Prof Steffen Scholpp) contact email  s.scholpp@exeter.ac.uk

  • Biohybrid microrobots for remote controlled drug delivery  (Bertram Daum) contact email b.daum2@exeter.ac.uk

  • Rewiring lineage competence during pluripotent progression (Professor Austin Smith) contact email  Austin. smith@exeter.ac.uk

  • Accelerated ageing as a cost of reproductive investment: using a life-history genomics approach to understand evolutionary constraints in a poultry model system  (Dr Barbara Tschirren) contact email  b.tschirren@exeter.ac.uk

  • Physiological and Nutritional Responses to Exercise in Young Patients with Congenital Heart Disease  (Professor Craig Williams) contact email c.a.williams@exeter.ac.uk

  • Coordination and dynamics of the human walk-run transition  (Dr Genevieve Williams) contact email g.k.r.williams@exeter.ac.uk

  • Effect of high blood glucose on visuo-motor performance in healthy individuals and people with Type 1 diabetes  (Prof Jo Bowtell) contact email  j.bowtell@exeter.ac.uk

  • Mapping neuroendocrine signalling in the nereid worm, Platynereis dumerilii. (Elizabeth Williams) contact email  e.williams2@exeter.ac.uk
  • Arabian killifish embryos as a model for Candida albicans infection at human body temperature (Tetsu Kudoh) contact email T.Kudoh@exeter.ac.uk
  • Building Flying Machines From Feeding Machines: The Causes And Consequences Of Body Transformations In Long Distance Migratory Birds (Stu Bearhop) Contact Email S.Bearhop@Exeter.Ac.Uk
  • Characterising a novel temperature sensing mechanism in plants: towards climate resilience (Vinod Kumar) contact email V.Kumar@exeter.ac.uk
  • Digital assessment of concussion symptoms in sports (Genevieve Williams) contact email G.K.R.Williams@exeter.ac.uk
  • Plastic additives as environmental contaminants: quantification and assessment of ecological impacts.  Supervisory team Professor Jon Blount (Exeter) Professor Kevin J. Thomas (University of Queensland) and Dr. Fisher Wang (University of Queensland) for informaton contact email J.D.Blount@exeter.ac.uk

  • Genome evolution and epidemiology of hospital-acquired Candida infections (Rhys Farrer) contact email R.Farrer@exeter.ac.uk
  • Insecticide resistance alleles and their sex-specific effects. (David Hosken) contact email D.J.Hosken@exeter.ac.uk
  • Inter- and Intracellular signalling: Understanding interaction between organelles at membrane contact sites and the link with neurodegenerative disorders. (Joseph Costello) contact email J.Costello@exeter.ac.uk
  • Inter- and Intracellular signalling: Locally delivered Wnt signal orchestrate cell fate acquisition in stem cells. (Steffen Scholpp) contact email S.Scholpp@exeter.ac.uk
  • Inter- and Intracellular signalling: Revealing the role of organelle contacts in cellular lipid- and energy metabolism (Michael Schrader) contact email M.Schrader@exeter.ac.uk
  • Mechanisms of bioelectric generation by electric cells of the electric knifefish, Brachyhypopomus gauderio. (Tetsu Kudoh) contact email T.Kudoh@exeter.ac.uk
  • The consequences of long-distance pollen transfer for crop health (Karl Wotton) contact email K.R.Wotton@exeter.ac.uk
  • Modelling energy system contributions to optimise performance during continuous and intermittent exercise. (Andrew Jones) contact email A.M.Jones@exeter.ac.uk
  • MRC Centre for Medical Mycology: Subversion of epithelial-neutrophil cross talk by the major fungal pathogen of the human lung Aspergillus fumigatus (Elaine Bignell) contact email E.Bignell@exeter.ac.uk
  • Nonlinear dynamics of human response to vibrating structures. (Genevieve Williams) contact email G.K.R.Williams@exeter.ac.uk
  • Regulation of mitosis: spindle assembly and microtubule dynamics in Drosophila embryos (James Wakefield) contact email J.G.Wakefield@exeter.ac.uk
  • Study on mechanisms of aging using an annual killifish, Nothobranchius furzeri, fastest aging vertebrate species (Tetsu Kudoh) contact email T.Kudoh@exeter.ac.uk
  • The ecology and evolution of pathogen virulence (Camille Bonneaud) contact email C.Bonneaud@exeter.ac.uk
  • Investigating the ribosomal “off” switch to compact antibiotic resistant microbes (Stefano Pagliara) contact email S.Pagliara@exeter.ac.uk

  • Understanding the physiological impact of firefighting personal protective equipment (PPE) on wildland firefighters in an era of extreme wildfire behaviour (Claire Belcher) contact email C.Belcher@exeter.ac.uk
  • Using algae to solve sustainability issues in global fish aquaculture (Rod Wilson) contact email R.W.Wilson@exeter.ac.uk
  • Establishing tissue specific transcriptional responses to physical (in)activity in C. elegans (Timothy Etheridge) contact email T.Etheridge@exeter.ac.uk
  • Economic decision making under risk and uncertainty in grey squirrels (Sciurus carolinensis) (Lisa Leaver) contact email L.A.Leaver@exeter.ac.uk
  • How do assistive robotic exoskeletons worn on the ankle joint affect neuromuscular control of balance? (Dominic Farris) contact email D.Farris@exeter.ac.uk
  • Quantitative predictions of the limiting factors in aerobic exercise: a combined in-vivo (in-vitro) and mathematical approach (Craig Williams) contact email C.A.Williams@exeter.ac.uk
  • Myeloid Inhibitory C-type Lectin-Like Receptor (MICL) sensing cholesterol: a study on immune modulation and impact on homeostasis (Petruta Morvay) contact email P.Morvay@exeter.ac.uk
  • The role of information in development and plasticity (modelling: evolutionary game theory) (Sasha Dall) contact email S.R.X.Dall@exeter.ac.uk
  • How do biomolecular condensates control gene regulatory processes (Steven West) contact email S.West@exeter.ac.uk
  • Understanding the benefits and risks of an insect protein diet in shrimp aquaculture (Bryony Williams) contact email B.A.P.Williams@exeter.ac.uk
  • Developing an improved pipeline for the detection and analysis of transposable elements from whole genome sequences (Alex Hayward) contact email Alex.Hayward@exeter.ac.uk
  • Investigating the structure and assembly of microbial cell walls using cryo electron microscopy and single-molecule sensing techniques (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk
  • Atomistic principles of microbial swimming revealed by molecular dynamics simulations (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk
  • Investigating infection mechanisms of intracellular parasites to combat human disease (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk
  • Genetic architecture of life history and morphology adaptations in guppies (Poecilia reticulata) (Bonnie Fraser) contact email B.Fraser@exeter.ac.uk
  • Investigating risk factors of poor outcomes in healthcare associated infections (Mario Recker) contact email M.Recker@exeter.ac.uk
  • Behavioural physiology and ecology of bees in natural and agricultural plant-pollinator systems (Natalie Hempel De Ibarra) contact email N.Hempel@exeter.ac.uk
  • The terrestrial carbon budget of East and S.E. Asia over the last 2 decades  (Stephen Sitch) contact email  s.a.sitch@exeter.ac.uk
  • What can the paleo-record tell us about tropical peatlands resilience? (Prof. Angela Gallego-Sala)  a.gallego-sala@exeter.ac.uk
  • Tracking RNA viruses and infected hosts in aquatic systems with single-cell sorting and environmental transcriptomics.  (Dr Adam Monier) contact email  a.monier@exeter.ac.uk
  • Environmental impact of artificial nighttime lighting (from streetlights and other sources) in rural areas  (Professor Kevin J. Gaston) contact email k.j.gaston@exeter.ac.uk

  • Fighting climate change, how can soils store more carbon?  (Prof Iain Hartley) contact email  i.hartley@exeter.ac.uk
  • Climate change, glacier recession and mountain hazards in Tibet  (Professor Stephan Harrison) stephan.harrison@exeter.ac.uk
  • Can China's economic development be maintined within planetary boundaries? A multidisciplinary research project that explores developmental pathways and environmental impacts using empirical data and simulation tools. (James Dyke) contact email J.G.Dyke@exeter.ac.uk
  • Climate warming and social behaviour in pollinating bees and wasps (Jeremy Field) contact email J.P.Field@exeter.ac.uk
  • Designing wildfire safe planting for the wildland-urban/rural urban interface (Claire Belcher) contact email C.Belcher@exeter.ac.uk
  • Ecosystem services and biodiversity: How are forest resistance and resilience to climate change and disturbance distributed across the landscape? (Ted Feldpausch) contact email T.R.Feldpausch@exeter.ac.uk
  • Improving predictions sub-Saharan rainfall variability on seasonal to decadal timescales (Katy Sheen) contact email K.L.Sheen@exeter.ac.uk
  • Incorporating plant thermoregulation strategies into Earth System Models (Lina Mercado) contact email L.Mercado@exeter.ac.uk
  • Plastics 2.0: Understanding and leveraging social processes to produce individual and community behaviour change (Joanne Smith) contact email J.R.Smith@exeter.ac.uk
  • Quantifying the differences in CO2 emissions between prescribed fires and summer wildfires in European northern ecosystems (Claire Belcher) contact email C.Belcher@exeter.ac.uk
  • The root of the problem: using the world's only mature temperate forest carbon dioxide manipulation experiment to understand how forests will grow under a future atmosphere (Iain Hartley) contact email I.Hartley@exeter.ac.uk
  • The relation between climate change and meat consumption: are people aware of it? How do people see their moral responsibility regarding climate change and meat consumption? (Nadira Faber) contact email N.Faber@exeter.ac.uk
  • Cooperation across generations: how people value natural resources and share them with future generations (Nadira Faber) contact email N.Faber@exeter.ac.uk
  • Eco-evolutionary feedbacks in the soil microbial response to global warming (Gabriel Yvon-Durocher) contact email G.Yvon-Durocher@exeter.ac.uk
  • The fish egg shell protein as a material for bioplastic that can be rapidly degraded by specific hatching enzymes (Tetsu Kudoh) contact email T.Kudoh@exeter.ac.uk
  • Using virtual reality to improve balance and walking safety in older adults and people with Parkinson's (Dr Will Young) contact email W.Young@exeter.ac.uk
  • Gene-environment interactions of physical activity and nutrtion with skeletal health during growth and in adulthood using population based datasets  (Dr Dimitris Vlachopoulos) contact email  D.Vlachopoulos@exeter.ac.uk
  • Affective self-knowledge and social (dis)engagement strategies across cultures: How well do individuals anticipate, recall, and respond to their own social needs in daily life?" (Jennifer Lay) contact email J.Lay@exeter.ac.uk
  • A computational analysis of dual process theory: Associative and Cognitive sub-systems in learning and memory (Ian McLaren) contact email I.P.L.McLaren@exeter.ac.uk
  • Developing and evaluating web-based interventions to improve executive functioning in children and young people with acquired brain injury (Anna Adlam) contact email A.R.Adlam@exeter.ac.uk
  • Understanding and enhancing the generalisation effects of working memory training in children and adolescents (Anna Adlam) contact email A.R.Adlam@exeter.ac.uk
  • The role of diet and physical activity on cardiovascular dysfunction in young survivors of childhood cancer (Raquel Revuelta Iniesta) contact email R.Revuelta-Iniesta@exeter.ac.uk
  • Understanding the Psychology of Aging and Wisdom in Later Life and the impact of overcoming adversity for successful aging. (Ken Laidlaw) contact email K.Laidlaw@exeter.ac.uk
  • Moral minds: Examining moral cognition concerning agents, artificial intelligence, animals and the environment. (Joseph Sweetman) contact email J.P.Sweetman@exeter.ac.uk
  • Eco-evolutionary feedbacks in the soil microbial response to global warming (Gabriel Yvon-Durocher) contact email G.Yvon-Durocher@exeter.ac.uk
  • China's Energy Transition: examining the roles of non-state and sub-national actors (Bridget Woodman) contact email B.Woodman@exeter.ac.uk
  • Insights into the North Atlantic carbon cycle from long-term atmospheric oxygen and CO2 records. (Andrew Watson) contact email Andrew.Watson@exeter.ac.uk
  • The impact of Western colonisation on marine biodiversity and ecosystem functioning in Queensland, Australia (linked to ERC SEACHANGE Project and QUEX) (James Scourse) contact email J.Scourse@exeter.ac.uk
  • Uptake and ecotoxicology of novel bioplastics in marine biota (Ceri Lewis) contact email C.N.Lewis@exeter.ac.uk
  • Addressing 21st Century ocean carbon cycle biases in Earth System Models (Paul Halloran) contact email P.Halloran@exeter.ac.uk
  • The influence of diet in the novel role of fish in the marine inorganic carbon cycle and ocean chemistry (Rod Wilson) contact email R.W.Wilson@exeter.ac.uk