Medicine and Health

Our research is globally recognised and our partnerships with healthcare providers, industry and above all, the public, mean that this work is constantly at the cutting-edge of innovation in improving lives.

Our research is driven by important clinical questions and solving future health challenges. Our areas of research strength include: diabetes, cardiovascular risk and ageing; neuroscience and mental health (especially in cognitive health and dementia); environment and human health; health perceptions and health-related behaviour change as well as health services research, including public health.

As a research student you will join a thriving research community and benefit from dedicated and knowledgeable supervision and access to outstanding facilities.  We can offer a wide range of supervision across our core research areas and are also involved with interdisciplinary research with other Colleges at Exeter. Our research is organised within two Institutes:

 

Applications are now closed.

 

Research Projects

  • Evolution of antimicrobial resistance (AMR) in livestock farming systems (William Gaze) contact email W.H.Gaze@exeter.ac.uk
  • Potential use of plant secondary metabolites as adjunctive compounds in photodynamic therapy of skin cancer (Paul Winyard) contact email P.G.Winyard@exeter.ac.uk
  • Developing a revolutionary multipurpose biomarker for motor neurone disease (Andrew Crosby) contact email A.H.Crosby@exeter.ac.uk
  • Exploring genetic variation in endothelial cells functional phenotypes. (Mattia Frontini) contact email M.Frontini@exeter.ac.uk
  • Exploring the synthesis and biological value of marine product-inspired compounds, for the treatment of human diseases (Jinwei Zhang) contact email J.Zhang5@exeter.ac.uk
  • MicroRNA profiling in Parkinson's disease (Anna Migdalska-Richards) contact email A.Migdalska-Richards@exeter.ac.uk
  • Modelling human embryo development using naive pluripotent stem cells (Ge Guo) contact email G.Guo@exeter.ac.uk
  • Modulation of epithelial-mesenchymal transitions and alternative splicing in prostate cancer (Seb Oltean) contact email S.Oltean@exeter.ac.uk
  • MRC Centre for Medical Mycology: Combination therapies for life-threatening invasive Candida infections (Alistair Brown) contact email A.J.P.Brown@exeter.ac.uk
  • MRC Centre for Medical Mycology; phenotypic and genotypic characterisation of Aspergillus fumigatus isolates recovered from children with cystic fibrosis. (Adilia Warris) contact email A.Warris@exeter.ac.uk
  • SRPK1 importance in the SARS-CoV-2 viral cycle and potential for SRPK1 inhibitors as novel treatment against Covid-19 disease (Seb Oltean) contact email S.Oltean@exeter.ac.uk
  • Tissue-specific splicing: Why spliceosomal mutations do not affect all genes in every type of cell? (Seb Oltean) contact email S.Oltean@exeter.ac.uk
  • Understanding the causal links between metabolic and mental health in diverse ancestry populations (Jess Tyrrell) contact email J.Tyrrell@exeter.ac.uk
  • Using state-of-the-art imaging to dissect the immunopathology of Type 1 diabetes (Sarah Richardson) contact email S.Richardson@exeter.ac.uk
  • Developing a better research pathway to evaluate new medical tests. Learning from the evolution of research on evaluations of tests for COVID and identifying ways in which key questions could have been answered more quickly and efficiently. (Christopher Hyde) contact email C.J.Hyde@exeter.ac.uk
  • Marine derived bioactive compounds for the treatment of human disease (Jinwei Zhang) contact email J.Zhang5@exeter.ac.uk
  • Using machine learning to identify drug-vaccine interactions in electronic health record data (William Henley) contact email W.E.Henley@exeter.ac.uk
  • Drug discovery for lung disease using in vitro disease models and cutting-edge screening technology (Chris Scotton) contact email C.J.Scotton@exeter.ac.uk
  • COVID-19 and fibrotic lung disease: developing therapy through immune cell re-programming (Chris Scotton) contact email C.J.Scotton@exeter.ac.uk