Mathematics

 The projects listed below are linked to Studentships offered within the College of Engineering, Mathematics and Physical Sciences.  

For eligible successful applicants, the studentships comprises:

  • An stipend for 3.5 years (currently £15,609 p.a. for 2021/22) in line with UK Research and Innovation rates
  • Payment of university tuition fees;
  • A research budget of £1,750 for an international conference, lab, field and research expenses;


For further project details and how to apply please click on the appropriate project title link(s) below.

 

Project Title:  Domino effects on networks with higher order interactions (Ref 4308)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr Jennifer Creaser
Contact email:  j.creaser@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  25 November 2021

 

Project Title:  Analysis of collective dynamics in multilevel neural network models (Ref 4309)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr Kyle Wedgwood
Contact email:  K.C.A.Wedgwood@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  25 November 2021

 

Project Title:  Numerical analysis of innovative algorithms for solving partial differential equations applied to complex, multiscale problems (Ref 4310)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr Jemma Shipton
Contact email:  j.shipton@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  24 January 2022

 

Project Title:  To swim or to struggle: how tadpole motor circuits reconfigure themselves in a fraction of a second (Ref 4317)
Lead Supervisor:  Prof Roman Borisyuk
Contact email:  r.m.borisyuk@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  25 November 2021



Project Title:  The Atmospheric Dynamics of Tropical Expansion (Ref 4320)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr William Seviour
Contact email:  w.seviour@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  24 January 2022



Project Title:  Wave and mean flow intereraction in rotating, stratified, and electrically conducting fluids (Ref 4322)
Lead Supervisor:  Professor Beth Wingate
Contact email:  b.wingate@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  10 January 2022



Project Title:  Does time spent doing physical activity extend the lifespan beyond the time spent doing physical activity? (Ref 4325)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr Mark Kelson
Contact email:  m.j.kelson@yahoo.com
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  24 January 2022

 

Project Title:  Mathematical models to understand large-scale brain dynamics (Ref 4335)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr. Marc Goodfellow
Contact email:  m.goodfellow@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  25 November 2021

 

Project Title:  Probabilistic risk estimates for extreme values from numerical model simulations (Ref 4338)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr Ben Youngman
Contact email:  b.youngman@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  25 November 2021

 

Project Title:  Spatio-temporal Bayesian modelling for statistical post-processing of weather forecasts (Ref 4339)
Lead Supervisor:  Dr Stefan Siegert
Contact email:  s.siegert@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  10 January 2022

 

Project Title: Uncertainty quantification for precision medicine (Ref 4341)
Lead Supervisor:  Prof Krasimira Tsaneva-Atanasova
Contact email:  k.tsaneva-atanasova@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  10 January 2022


Project Title: Understanding and constraining the relationship between cloud feedbacks, the tropical circulation and the hydrological cycle (Ref 4315)
Lead Supervisor:  Professor Hugo Lambert
Contact email:  f.h.lambert@exeter.ac.uk
Location:  Streatham campus, Exeter
Application deadline:  10 January 2022