Skip to main content

Project ideas for CSC PhD Scholarships 2022/23 in LSI

China Scholarship Council (CSC) in LSI

The Living Systems Institute (LSI) offers research projects for full-time PhD scholarships in collaboration with the China Scholarship Council (CSC). These studentship opportunities are for the September 2022 intake. 

If you are interested in one of the projects, please contact the listed supervisor well in advance of the deadline. Deadline: 10 am on Wednesday, 5 January 2022

Examples of potential  CSC PhD research projects are listed below.

Rewiring lineage competence during pluripotent progression (Austin Smith) contact email Austin.Smith@exeter.ac.uk

Atomistic principles of microbial swimming revealed by molecular dynamics simulations (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk

Developing biohybrid microrobots for remote-controlled drug delivery (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk

Investigating infection mechanisms of intracellular parasites to combat human disease (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.u

Investigating the structure and assembly of microbial cell walls using cryo-electron microscopy and single-molecule sensing techniques (Bertram Daum) contact email B.Daum2@exeter.ac.uk

Understanding the benefits and risks of an insect protein diet in shrimp aquaculture (Bryony Williams) contact email B.A.P.Williams@exeter.ac.uk

Quantitative predictions of the limiting factors in aerobic exercise: a combined in-vivo (in-vitro) and mathematical approach (Craig William) and (Kyle Wedgwood) contact email C.A.Williams@exeter.ac.uk

Regulation of mitosis: spindle assembly and microtubule dynamics in Drosophila embryo (James Wakefield) contact email J.G.Wakefield@exeter.ac.uk

Investigating the ribosomal “off” switch to compact antibiotic-resistant microbes (Stefano Pagliara) contact email S.Pagliara@exeter.ac.uk

Inter- and Intracellular signalling: Locally delivered Wnt signal orchestrate cell fate acquisition in stem cells (Steffen Scholpp) contact email S.Scholpp@exeter.ac.uk

Quantitative Analysis of Signalling in the Tumour Micro Environment (Steffen Scholpp) contact email S.Scholpp@exeter.ac.uk

How do biomolecular condensates control gene regulatory processes (Steve West) contact email S.West@exeter.ac.uk

Modelling viruses in crowded biological environments (Wolfram Moebius) contact email W.Moebius@exeter.ac.uk

 

Apply here for Life and Environmental Sciences related Scholarships

Tracking RNA viruses and infected hosts in aquatic systems with single-cell sorting and environmental transcriptomics (Adam Monier) contact email A.Monier@exeter.ac.uk

 

Apply here for Life and Environmental Sciences related Scholarships

Active nanocavity optomechanics (Frank Vollmer) contact email F.Vollmer@exeter.ac.uk 

Understanding catalysis in electrochemistry with single-molecule sensors (Frank Vollmer) contact email F.Vollmer@exeter.ac.uk 

Nonlinear whispering-gallery-mode optics (Frank Vollmer) contact email F.Vollmer@exeter.ac.uk 

 

Apply here for Engineering, Mathematics & Physical Sciences related Scholarships

NetClamp: conducting neural network rhythms with mathematics (Kyle Wedgwood) contact email K.C.A.Wedgwood@exeter.ac.uk 

 

 Apply here for Engineering, Mathematics & Physical Sciences related Scholarships

Quantum biology: Unravelling and controlling the quantum biology of magnetic field sensing (Daniel Kattnig) contact email D.Kattnig@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematical modelling of human embryo development (David Richards) contact email David.Richards@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematical modelling of peroxisome dynamics (David Richards) contact email David.Richards@exeter.ac.uk

Simulating the filamentous growth of fungal killers (David Richards) contact email David.Richards@exeter.ac.uk

Unravelling genotype-phenotype relationships for bacterial biofilm formation at ultra-high-throughput using microfluidic droplets (Fabrice Gielen) contact email F.Gielen@exeter.ac.uk

Deciphering stress-induced changes in behaviour using a zebrafish model: combining experiments, modelling, and computer vision (Kirsty Wan) contact email K.Y.Wan2@exeter.ac.uk

Decoding the behaviour of freely-moving microorganisms using micro-fabrication, biophysical modelling, and artificial intelligence (Kirsty Wan) contact email K.Y.Wan2@exeter.ac.uk

Opto-hydrodynamical control of single-cell movement in three-dimensions (Kirsty Wan) contact email K.Y.Wan2@exeter.ac.uk

Mathematical modelling of cytoneme-mediated cell fate acquisition (Kyle Wedgwood) contact email K.C.A.Wedgwood@exeter.ac.uk

Tunable cell sorting devices (Peter Petrov) and (Stefano Pagliaracontact email P.G.Petrov@exeter.ac.uk

NetClamp: conducting neural network rhythms with mathematics (Kyle Wedgwood) contact email K.C.A.Wedgwood@exeter.ac.uk

Unravelling the factors contributing to the evolution of bats expanding their range  (Wolfram Moebius) contact email W.Moebius@exeter.ac.uk

 

Apply here for Engineering, Mathematics & Physical Sciences related Scholarships

Charting the dynamics of human embryo development using naive stem cell-derived blastocyst models (Ge Guo) contact email G.Guo@exeter.ac.uk

 

Apply here for Medicine and Health related Scholarships

 

How to apply

Please contact the listed supervisor for the project you are interested in well in advance of the deadline. The application deadline is 10 am on Wednesday, 5 January 2022.

Please click here for full application details