Race Equality Group

The University of Exeter was one of 21 UK Universities who took part in the Equality Challenge Unit’s pilot of the Race Equality Charter Mark, which aimed to improve the representation, progression and success of minority ethnic staff and studentsFollowing our participation in the trial the University's Race Equality Group was relaunched.

The Race Equality Group is chaired by Linda Peka, Chief College Operations Officer, and brings together academic and Professional Services staff, students and colleagues from the Students' Guild.

Current members

Linda Peka (Chair) Chief College Operations Officer
Stuart Hall Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity, Safety, Health & Wellbeing
Dr Tudor Chinnah Senior Lecturer, Medical School
Dorcas Cowan Inclusivity & Wellbeing Manager, Safety, Health & Wellbeing
Nick Givens Senior Lecturer, College of Social Sciences & International Studies
Alec James Vice-President Welfare, Students' Guild
Dr Gihan Marasingha Lecturer, College of Engineering, Mathematics & Physical Sciences
Gareth Oughton Director of Membership Services & People Development, Students' Guild
Malaka Shwaikh Postgraduate student
Dr Joseph Sweetman Research Fellow, College of Life & Environmental Sciences
Alexa Webster President Community and Welfare, Falmouth and Exeter Students’ Union