Gender Equality Group

The University of Exeter has held an Athena SWAN institutional Bronze award since 2011, and departmental awards are held by all nine of our STEM/M departments. In addition the Physics and Astronomy department has had Juno Practitioner status since 2013. 

Following on from the University's engagement in these gender equality acreditations the Gender Equality Group meets regularly to discuss a range of gender issues affecting staff and students at the University. 

The Gender Equality Group is chaired by Professor Mark Goodwin, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Affairs), and brings together academic and professional services staff, students and colleagues from the Students' Guild.

Current members

Professor Mark Goodwin (Chair) Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Affairs)
Kitty Adhamy-Nichol Equality & Diversity Officer, Safety, Health & Wellbeing
Anne-Marie Baker Wellbeing & Inclusivity Manager, Safety, Health & Wellbeing
Catherine Bailey Recruitment Lead and Admin Team Manager, HR Services
Dorcas Cowan Inclusivity & Wellbeing Manager, Safety, Health & Wellbeing
Helen Dickason HR IT Systems Administrator, HR Services
Alex Hall Business Support Officer, Medical School
Alec James Vice-President Welfare, Students' Guild
Andrew Johnson Assistant Director, HR Services
Rebecca Ledger Learning & Development Manager, People Development
Sophie Sinclair-Brown Equality & Diversity Officer, Safety, Health & Wellbeing
Emma Stephenson Doctoral College Manager, Doctoral College
Alexa Webster President Community and Welfare, Falmouth and Exeter Students’ Union