Skip to main content


Strategy 2030 clearly states our commitment to our place and building an exceptional education and research ecosystem in Cornwall. The three-faculty model enables a distinctive offer and clearer identity around which a renamed University of Exeter, Cornwall can base its future ambitions for growth and contribute to the major opportunities for development and collaboration in Cornwall including sustainability, marine, space, technology metals, renewable energy, culture and environmental and public health.

Key features for University of Exeter, Cornwall include:

  • Elements of all three faculties will be located in Cornwall, ensuring a whole-university approach to our Cornwall activity with a distinctive offer and clearer identity including maintaining the brand of Camborne School of Mines (CSM).
  • We will grow the standing, political influence and reputation of University of Exeter, Cornwall, enabling strong partners, like Cornwall Council and the Royal Cornwall Hospitals Trust and the region’s communities to have a clearer understanding of the University of Exeter, Cornwall and see the value that a research-intensive university can contribute to the county’s future.

See the diagram showing the configuration of faculties in Cornwall.

 Faculty DepartmentDetails
Faculty of Environment, Science and Economy (ESE)

Earth and Environmental Sciences Camborne School of Mines
Centre for Geography and
Environmental Sciences (Penryn)
Maths (Penryn)
Ecology and Conservation Biosciences, Penryn
Engineering Renewable Energy
Management (Business School, Cornwall) Sustainable Futures
Faculty of Health and Life Sciences (HLS) Public Health and Sports Sciences (Medical School, Cornwall) ECEHH
Clinical and Biomedical Sciences (Medical School, Cornwall) Medical Education
Faculty of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (HASS) HASS Penryn English and Cultural Studies (Penryn)
Languages and Visual Cultures (Penryn)
Archaeology and History (Penryn)
Social and Political Sciences, Philosophy, and Anthropology (Penryn)
Law School*

Strategic decisions on Law School teaching programmes will be made by the Head of the Law School in line with external accreditation and validation criteria.