Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS) Sustainability Group. Terms of Reference.

This document establishes the core governance arrangements for the HASS Sustainability Group.

Purposes:

- 1. To develop the HASS faculty Sustainability Action Plan (HASS-SAP). This will be a living strategy document that sets the course of action for our faculty to meet the University 2030 Net Zero target and environmental net gain agenda under the context of the Environment and Climate Emergency. This strategy document will be produced by the group and its diverse and inclusive cross-faculty representatives, in collaboration with members of the student body, and in collaboration with the HASS faculty executive. It will consist of a pathway towards 2030 with clear and achievable actions for individuals and departments to consider.
- 2. To act as a locus for colleagues across the faculty to raise and advance their ideas and perspectives on how HASS are responding to the Environment and Climate Emergency.
- To highlight, communicate and share across the faculty, to colleagues and students, our strategy, actions, and successes on the path to net zero and environmental net gain.
- 4. To represent HASS in University discussions and considerations about sustainability, environment, and climate.
- 5. As data availability develops, to have overall responsibility for establishing Faculty carbon reduction and net environmental gain targets and tracking their progress.
- 6. To have oversight of departmental approaches and actions through departmental representatives, to determine approaches and actions locally, recognising the different contexts and priorities that exist for HASS departments.
- 7. The Faculty Sustainability Group will be responsible for any future budget and resources allocated to the delivery of sustainability policy and targets.

Composition:

Name	Representing	Role/Special Interest	Email/contact
Nick Kirsop- Taylor	ACT-Faculty	Chair	n.a.kirsop-taylor@exeter.ac.uk
Cathy Durston	Faculty Executive	Faculty Operations	t.p.begbie@exeter.ac.uk
Duncan Russel (HASS- APVCE)	Faculty Executive	Education	D.J.Russel@exeter.ac.uk

Clare Saunders (HoD HASS Cornwall)	HASS Cornwall	Education	C.Saunders@exeter.ac.uk
Emily Morris	Faculty Executive	Executive Officer Faculty Operations	E.Morris3@exeter.ac.uk
Jon Primrose	Estates	Estates	J.G.Primrose@exeter.ac.uk
Andrea	Estates	Estates	A.M.Schoefbeck@exeter.ac.uk
Schoefbeck	Estates	Estates	A.M.Schoelbeck@exeter.ac.uk
Benedict Morrison	English	Departmental rep	B.Morrison@exeter.ac.uk
D-M Withers	ECW	Departmental rep	D.Withers@exeter.ac.uk
Chris Southgate	CAHRT	Departmental rep	C.C.B.Southgate@exeter.ac.uk
Katherine Earnshaw	CAHRT	Departmental rep	K.M.Earnshaw@exeter.ac.uk
Evelyn O'Malley (TBC)	Communications, Drama and Film	Departmental rep	E.OMalley@exeter.ac.uk
Lise Storm	IAIS	Departmental rep	I.storm@exeter.ac.uk
TBC	Law	Departmental rep	
Harriet White	Education	Departmental rep	H.White@exeter.ac.uk
Eliana Maestri	Languages, cultures and visual studies	Departmental rep	E.MAESTRI@exeter.ac.uk
TBC	Archaeology and History	Departmental rep	
Susannah Crockford	SPSPA	Departmental rep	S.Crockford@exeter.ac.uk
Seraphine Gelling	Communications, Drama and Film	Student rep	sg861@exeter.ac.uk
Anushka Fernandes	Law	Student rep	akf207@exeter.ac.uk