Organisation of the University


Her Majesty the Queen

Lay (Non-Executive) Officers

Baroness Floella Benjamin OBE HonDLitt Exon
The Chancellor is the chief ceremonial officer of the University and presides over occasions such as degree ceremonies.

Sarah J Turvill, LLB(Hons) (Exon) (Chair of Council)
The Chair of Council is the senior lay (non-executive) officer of the University and is responsible for ensuring the effectiveness of the strategic, financial and physical management of the University.

Richard M P Hughes (Finance), MA Oxon FCA
Peter Lacey, BSc BArch Bath RIBA

Vice-Chancellor's Executive Group

Professor Sir Steve Smith, BSc MSc PhD S’ton HonDSc S'ton HonDEd UWE
The Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive is the chief academic and executive officer of the University and is supported by the Provost and three Deputy Vice-Chancellors. The Deputy Vice Chancellors contribute to the Senior Management Blog.

Professor Janice Kay, BA Newc PhD Cantab AFBPsS

Professor Nick Kaye
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Mark Goodwin 
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Affairs and Cornwall Campus)

Professor Nick Talbot, BSc PhD UEA
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Knowledge Transfer)

Andrew Connolly 
Chief Financial Officer

Jane Chafer
Director of Communication and Corporate Affairs

Jacqui Marshall
Chief Operating Officer (Interim) Director of Human Resources

Michele Shoebridge, BA (Hons), PG Dip.Lib MA
Deputy Chief Operating Officer and Director of Academic Services