Key Charitable Information

Listed below is the information that The Higher Education Funding Council of England (HEFCE) requires the University of Exeter to make available.

a) Legal name and address

The legal name and full correspondence address of the University of Exeter is:

Northcote House
The Queens Drive
United Kingdom

b) Legal status of the University

The University is an independent corporation, whose legal status derives from a Royal Charter granted in 1955. Its objects, powers and framework of governance are set out in the Charter and its supporting Statutes, and approved by the Privy Council. The University is also an exempt charity within the meaning of the Charities Act 2006.

Company No. RC000653
Company Incorporated by Royal Charter (England/Wales) - see Charter and Statutes
Exempt Charity Reference No. X9538

Changes to the Charter and Statutes

With the approval of Council and Senate the University submitted requests to the Privy Council to make revisions to its Charter and Statutes - the amendments were allowed on 17th April 2017, 7th November 2012, 10th January 2012, 1st September 2010 and 16th August 2010. All of these changes are incorporated in the version available above.

c) Membership of Council (Trustees)

– as at 1 August 2017:

Miss Sarah J Turvill (Chair) 
Sir Steve Smith
Professor Janice M Kay 
Professor Nick Talbot
Mr Richard Atkins CBE
Ms Jo Binding
Mr Gerry Brown
Dr Sarah Buck OBE
Mr Nicholas Bull

Mr Graham Cole

Dr Barrie Cooper

Ms Kiron Farooki
Ms Judy Hargadon OBE 

Professor Dave Hoskens

Miss Clare Marx

Sir John O'Reilly
Professor Tim Quine
Ms Alison Reed
Professor Wendy Robinson
Mr Richard Sargeant
Ms Sally Turner

The Council (trustees) is the governing body of the University - current membership, biographies and registered interests can be found on the Council pages.

d) Financial Statements

The University’s year end is 31st July. The latest financial statements, together with preceding years, can be found on the University’s Finance website.