Alumni were honoured across a wide range of activities.

Royal recognition for Exeter alumni

14 University of Exeter alumni and three honorary graduates have received recognition for their work in the Queen’s birthday honours.

They have been honoured for a whole range of activities including charity work, services to arts, education, sport and medicine.

The full list is:

  • Mrs Mary-Kate Brown, OBE (Arabic, 1987). Director, Roundabout, China who was honoured for services to charity.
  • Ms Mary-Jane Butler, MBE (MSc Health Care - Prof Issues, 1997). Retired nurse and founder of W.O.R.K Kenya who was honoured for charitable service in Kenya.
  • Mr Mark Carne, CBE (Engineering Science (Civil), 1980). Chief Executive, Network Rail. In recognition of services to the rail industry.
  • Miss Lucy Chadwick, CB (Psychology, 1988). Director General of International Security and Environment, Department for Transport who was recognised for public service.
  • Mrs Rosemary Cole, BEM (Music, 1978). Director of Music, Tamar Valley Male Voice Choir and Accompanist, South Hams Folk Dancing Club, who was honoured for services to the performing arts in South West England.
  • Mrs Elizabeth Crawford, OBE (History, 1967). Writer and researcher who was honoured for services to education.
  • Mrs Patricia Earp, MBE (Social Admin & Politics, 1978). Director, Independent Living and Crisis Response, South East England, British Red Cross, who was recognised for services to crisis support.
  • Mr Tom D Hoffman, MBE, FCA, FRSA (Law, 1969). Member, Court of Common Council, City of London Corporation, who was honoured for services to secondary and tertiary education and the Arts in London.
  • Mr Stephen Hudson, MBE (Chemistry, 1984). Divisional Director, Community Services, Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust. In recognition of services to vulnerable people in Devon.
  • Miss Jennifer Kehoe, MBE (French, 2006). British Army Officer and professional skier, who was honoured for services to Paralympic Winter Olympic Sport.
  • Dr Colin Kenny, BEM (CPD Award Scheme, 2008). For services to diabetes care in Northern Ireland.
  • Mr Brian Landers, OBE (Politics, 1970). Former Chairman, Companies House and member of the Competition Appeal Tribunal, who was honoured for services to the economy.
  • Mr Brendan McGuigan, CBE (PhD M East Politics, 1996). Chief Inspector at Criminal Justice Inspection, who was recognised for services to justice in Northern Ireland.
  • Miss Abigail L Morgan, OBE (English & Drama, 1991 and Hon DLitt, 2015). Screenwriter who was honoured for services to theatre and screenwriting.
  • Mr Ken Follett, CBE (Hon DLitt, 2008). Author who has been recognised for services to literature and charity.
  • Mr Paul Johnson, CBE (Hon LLD, 2016). Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies who was honoured for services to the social sciences and economics.
  • Ms Kanya King, CBE, (Hon LLD, 2014). Entrepreneur. Recognised for services to music and culture.


Date: 9 July 2018

Read more University News