Skip to main content

Group members

Electromagnetic and Acoustic Materials group members

Academic Lead: Prof Rob Hicken
Academic staff
Professor Janet Anders Associate Professor in Quantum Theory
Professor Bill Barnes Professor of Photonics
Professor Jacopo Bertolotti Associated Professor in Physics
Dr Maciej Dabrowski Senior Lecturer
Professor Euan Hendry Professor
Professor Alastair P Hibbins Professor in Metamaterial Physics
Professor Robert J Hicken Professor of Condensed Matter Physics
Dr Simon Horsley Associate Professor
Professor Volodymyr Kruglyak Associate Professor of Physics
Dr Oleksandr Kyriienko Lecturer
Professor Feodor Ogrin Associate Professor
Professor Dave Phillips Associate Professor
Professor Pete Vukusic Professor of BioPhotonics & Associate Dean for Education
Post-doctoral research fellows
Marco Berritta Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr James Capers Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr James Capers Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Gregory James Chaplain Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Cameron Patrick Gallagher Postdoctoral Research, Innovation and Technology Transfer Fellow of The Centre for Metamaterial Research and Innovation(CMRI)
Dr Joshua Hamilton Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Ian Hooper Senior Research Fellow
Dr Kishan Menghrajani Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Chai Mididoddi Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Michal Mrnka Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Alexander Powell RAEng Research Fellow
Dr Marie Rider Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Sonal Saxena Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Tim Starkey Senior Research Fellow
Dr Philip Thomas Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr William Peter Wardley Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Managerial staff
Dr David Newman Public Engagement Manager (CMRI)
Visitors, emeritus and honorary fellows
Dr Simon Berry Honorary Senior Lecturer
Professor Sir Roy Sambles Emeritus Professor
Research administrators
Deb Lee Centre Administrator
Experimental officers and technicians
Dr Paul Keatley Senior Experimental Officer - EXTREMAG
George Ricketts Research Technician (CDT 1)
Peter Savage Research Technician CDT (Metamaterials)
Kyle Arnold Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2020)
Jacob Binsley Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Federico Cerisola
Konstantinos Chatzimpaloglou Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Soterx Chiavazzo Postgraduate
Julia Dautova Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2015)
Josh Glasbey Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2019)
Jonas Glatthard
Jenner Gudge-Brooke Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2020)
Valentin Haemmerli Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Peter Inzani Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2017)
Nicholas Jones
Sara-Kate Lavers Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Rachel Lennon Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Dan Moore Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2020)
Carlota Ruiz De Galarreta Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2015)
Connor Sait Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Kok Wee Song
Leanne Stanfield Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2019)
Beth Staples Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Nick Cole Research Engineer
Luca Dellantonio Dr