Skip to main content



Organisation of the University

On this site you can find details about the University's governance structure and decision-making processes. Council is the University’s governing body and Senate its senior academic forum. Responsibility for the management of the University and the delivery of its corporate strategy rests with the University Executive Board, chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, and its delegated committees.


  • His Majesty the King

Independent (Non-Executive) Officers

  • Sir Michael Barber 
    The Chancellor is the chief ceremonial officer of the University and presides over occasions such as degree ceremonies.
  • Quentin Woodley (Chair of Council) 
    The Chair of Council is the senior Independent (non-executive) officer of the University and is responsible for ensuring the effectiveness of the strategic, financial and physical management of the University.
  • Sir Richard Atkins
  • Sally Cabrini