Professional Services Recognition Awards 2019

The 2019 awards took place on Friday 28 June with nearly 200 guests celebrating the outstanding achievements of colleagues.

Thank you to everyone that came along, it was a wonderful evening hosted by Mike Shore-Nye, and culminating with a fantastic swing band to end the evening.

Read about all our wonderful winners here and colleagues can see pictures of the ceremony and videos of the shortlisted nominees on a sharepoint site

UPP and Morgan Siddall Construction

"As the long-term, on-campus student accommodation partner of the University of Exeter, UPP (University Partnerships Programme) is pleased to support the University’s 2019 ‘Professional Services Recognition Awards’ as principal sponsor.

The partnership between UPP and the University depends on our teams working side-by-side every day and we share a mission to deliver the very best student experience.

Therefore, we congratulate all those who have been nominated and shortlisted, and those who go on to win an award in recognition for their outstanding contribution to the success of the University.”

David Marsden (Partnerships Director, UPP)

Ambition has driven us to where we are today, and will help us to sustain our position within the Global 100. 

  • Excellent individual support to academic staff/students
  • A colleague who has developed professionally and grown their skills
  • A team who has undergone professional development and can now offer a better service
  • A colleague who has enabled others to grow in their roles
  • Leading by example – inspiring others to be ambitious
  • A colleague (or group) who has been instrumental in supporting the University’s strategic ambition

Panel chaired by: Imelda Rogers

Panel members: Alexandra Gerbasi, Amelia Ware, Warren Bingham-Roberts

We work at our best in active collaboration among students, colleagues and external partners. 

  • A collaborative internal project with colleagues from around the University
  • A collaborative project working with and listening to our students
  • A project with strong links to external partners, even internationally
  • A team or individual that works in a collaborative way bringing together colleagues, working with students and/or external partners
  • A colleague or team who makes it easy to collaborate and supports others in their collaboration
  • Contribution towards a wider team

Panel chaired by: Sean Fielding

Panel members: John Love, Jo McCreedie, Josip Martincic

We relish challenge and reach for the previously unachievable:

  • A team or individual that has met a challenge head on and improved the way they work or service they offer as a result
  • A team or colleague who has solved a problem in an effective way
  • If the pressure is on, this team or colleague delivers every time and goes out of their comfort zone
  • A team or individual who strives to achieve better results in the service they offer, raising standards
  • A team or colleague who is confident to challenge and be challenged

Panel chaired by: Rachel Burn

Panel members: Richard Smith, Catriona Taylor, Rosie McDonagh

We support and inspire each other to be the best that we can be:

  • A project, team or colleague who has evidence of bringing people together
  • Going above and beyond a job role to volunteer to assist others
  • An inspiring and/or supportive colleague or team who has led to others acting in a community minded way
  • A colleague or team who has worked outside normal work hours on a community event

Panel chaired by: Ian Blenkharn

Panel members: Elena Isayev, Duncan Sandes, Rosie McDonagh

Making the exceptional happen requires disruptive thinking, fresh ways of working and solutions with impact.

  • An example of how our work really makes a difference
  • A project that involved new ways of working and that can show measurable results
  • A colleague who gets involved and strives to work in a solution-focused way
  • A project, team or individual that has won external awards or has a reputation for having made an impact

Panel chaired by: Hannah Rundle

Panel members: Sarah Dyer, Jon Primrose, Rosie Ahier

We strive to reach the highest standards of scholarship and service.

  • A team or individual who has worked meticulously to raise their standards of service this year
  • Working tirelessly and diligently in the interests of the University
  • A colleague or team for whom “nothing is too much trouble” who deliver outstanding levels of service
  • Demonstrating attention to detail and thoroughness at work and in dealings with colleagues, students or external partners

Panel chaired by: Michael Wykes

Panel members: Susan Banducci, Cathryn Baker, Warren Bingham-Roberts

An award for an individual who has made the best contribution to the University either by making a difference behind the scenes, or inspiring colleagues to do the best they can. The University chooses the winner from 5 shortlisted candidates via a public online vote.

Panel chaired by: Craig Nowell

Panel members: Nathan Burden, Simon Law, Sarah Redman

An award for an individual or team who have shown great creativity and innovation to develop a new way of working.

Panel chaired by: Jane Chafer

Panel members: Jackie Bagnall, Chris Evans, Rosie McDonagh

This award seeks to acknowledge and celebrate an apprentice’s exceptional contributions to their workplace. The apprentice will need to either be currently undertaking an apprenticeship or have completed it within the last 12 months and will need to meet the following criteria:

  • Commitment: demonstrates commitment to your personal development and progression
  • Contribution: shows outstanding contribution to your workplace - in particular, areas or projects where you have exceeded expectations
  • Success: demonstrates inspirational levels of achievement and attainment

Panel chaired by: Cathy Durston

Panel members: David Boughey, Jon Creswell, Rosie McDonagh

We are committed to developing an environment which promotes equality of opportunity, values diversity and where students and staff can work and study free from discrimination and harassment. This award recognises an individual or team who have delivered a specific project, initiative or demonstrated inclusivity in their everyday behaviour that significantly contributes to the enhancement of equality, diversity and inclusion at the University.

Panel chaired by: Linda Peka

Panel members: Manuela Baretto, Hannah Alderson, Rosie McDonagh, Jacq Christmas, Rebekah Welton, Harry Bishop, Mark Baldwin


Contact us

If you have any questions, please contact a member of the PSRA organising team.