Skip to main content

Awards and achievements

ERC grants

The Astrophysics group has been awarded eleven prestigious ERC grants:

Professor Isabelle Baraffe ERC Advanced 2013-18, ERC Advanced 2018-23
Professor Gilles Chabrier ERC Advanced 2010-15
Professor Matthew Bate ERC Advanced 2014-19
Dr Matthew Browning ERC Starting 2014-19
Dr Clare Dobbs ERC Starting 2011-16, ERC Consolidator 2019-24
Dr David Sing  ERC Starting 2014-19
Dr Stefan Kraus ERC Starting 2015-20, ERC Consolidator 2021-26
Dr Sean Matt ERC Consolidator 2016-21


From 2003 onwards the group also held/obtained the following awards:

Professor Matthew Bate European Young Investigator 2005-2010, Philip Leverhulme Prize 2003
Professor Gilles Chabrier

Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, 2024
Institute of Physics (IoP) Fellow, 2019
Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize, 2019
Prize Ampère 2014: a scientific prize awarded annually by the French Academy of Sciences for outstanding research work in mathematics or physics
Eddington Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, 2011
Grand Prix Jean Ricard of the French Physical Society, 2010

Professor Isabelle Baraffe Lodewijk Woltjer Lecture Award 2023, Viktor Ambartsumian International Science Prize 2020, Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award 2010
Professor Stefan Kraus STFC Rutherford 2013-18, Philip Leverhulme Prize 2013
Dr Chris Brunt Harry Otten Prize for Innovation in Meteorology 2019

Professor Isabelle Baraffe appointed to Science and Technology Facilities Council 

On Friday 23 March 2018, Professor Isabelle Baraffe was announced by the Board of UK Research and Innovation as one of ten members of the Science and Technology Facilities Council, the senior strategic body of the prominent organisation.

She served a three-year term on the Council from the launch of the UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) on 1 April 2018. Read more