Skip to main content

Naomi Hodges

BA Modern Languages (Italian and Spanish)

What has been the highlight of your time at Exeter?

A great point about the University of Exeter is the amazing support network provided by staff and students alike. I have always been able to get help when I have needed it, be it in or out of office hours and this definitely made a difference to my overall grade. Some of my teachers really went above and beyond what I would have expected to help me, and I am very grateful for that.

What will you miss the most about University?

I will definitely miss my friends the most. I have made my best friends in Exeter, from halls and from my course, and living with, or within walking distance of, my best friends each year has been so much fun. It’s great to come home from lectures and be able to chat and have dinner together, and that kind of thing will be so much harder now that none of us live in Exeter anymore! Definitely make the most of living so close to your friends, it’s the best.

What did you enjoy about your particular programme?

I particularly enjoyed the Italian side of my degree, and I loved learning more about the language. I found the Italian Linguistics modules extremely interesting and would definitely like to continue learning more about linguistics. It was also great to learn Spanish from scratch, doing this allowed me to easily see my progress which was rewarding.

What advice would you give to current and future students?

I would say make sure you make the most of living in Exeter as it is such a lovely city with much to offer. There are many nearby places that make great day trips such as Spitchwick in Dartmoor, Exmouth or Teignmouth! In terms of the university, make the most of office hours and email your tutors with any questions you have about the essays you are writing – this can really help to boost your grades. In addition, join (and actually go to) societies and events, you’ll meet great people and learn new skills.

What are your plans now that you have graduated?

I am moving to Sassari, Sardinia, Italy for three months in September for an internship with the tourist office there. I am looking forward to further improving my Italian and getting a taste of life in Italy! After that, I will either stay and work in Italy or move elsewhere, perhaps to the Netherlands or Spain. In the future I would be interested in doing a Master’s degree in Linguistics, probably in the Netherlands.