Skip to main content

Ordinance 2

2 University Awards
2.1 Substantive degrees, diplomas, certificates, testamurs and other awards, scholarships and prizes shall be awarded by authority of the Senate on such conditions as may be prescribed by Regulations.
2.2 Proposals for the conferment of honorary degrees shall be considered by the University Executive Board (UEB).  Names put forward by UEB shall be approved by both the Council and the Senate, and an honorary degree shall not be conferred unless the nomination is approved in each case in both bodies.
2.3 The Senate may confer ad eundem degrees on graduates of the University of London who pursued their graduating courses for a period of not less than two years at the University College of the South West of England. Such ad eundem degrees shall carry the same rights and privileges as substantive degrees.
2.4 Congregations for the conferment of degrees shall be held for that purpose at such times and at such place as the Senate may determine, and shall be held twice in each academic year.
2.5 Candidates for substantive degrees shall be presented by the Dean of Taught Students or Dean of Postgraduate Research, or appropriate Pro-Vice-Chancellor & Executive Dean or nominated deputy. Honorary graduands shall be presented by a member of the University appointed by UEB for this purpose.
2.6 With the approval of the Senate, degrees may be conferred in absentia. As Chair of Senate, the Vice-Chancellor has delegated authority to confer degrees on behalf of Senate.
2.7 No person shall be eligible for any award by the University unless all academic-related fees owing to the University have been paid in full.
2.8 No person against whom an order of suspension or exclusion is in force shall be eligible for the award of a degree or other qualification by the University.